Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Odd Couple / Fastidiousness

4 Comments

Fastidiousness

Fastidiousness

We are a tidy people, my husband and I. It’s a matter of habit. We clean the kitchen every night so we don’t wake up to a mess. We make the bed every morning. We pick up after ourselves. We’re organized and clutter free because we get crabby when we can’t find stuff. Everyday house keeping is a cinch. Except for the dust. And windows.
This time of year, when the sun peeks over the mountain it’s devious beams head straight for my front windows, illuminating every smudge and mote. Neighbors on their way to church this morning may have been tsk-tsking when they saw me on my porch, washing windows on Easter Sunday! It’s shocking, I know. But they were very smudgy.
And the dust! I’ve never seen so much dust in a house. Every day I could dust. In winter, when the sun is too far south to light my floors, I can get away with a good swiffering every other day. But this time of year the sun spills in twice a day and twice a day I’m appalled at how much dust has landed. “Close the curtains”, my husband says when I lament. He’s right. Let it be. Twice a day swiffering could be seen as too fastidious. There’s a fine line.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Odd Couple / Fastidiousness

  1. The Ode to Swiffering…Nice.

  2. Thanks. I swiffer the hell out of spiders too.

  3. Sometimes you just have to make friends with dust

Leave a Reply

