Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Clone Wars

10 Comments

Daily Prompt: Clone Wars.

Daily Prompt: Clone Wars

If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

Clonelessness

Guaranteed healthy and mentally stable! Cheerful and confident! That’s the manufacturer’s guarantee.

I had not expected her to be beautiful. I mean, she’s my clone, right? But she was way better looking than me. She was two sizes smaller! Of course, they’re fed a vegan diet at the clonetorium, and excersized rigorously every day. There are no damaging UV rays there, so her skin was flawless. She’d never smoked or drank alcohol beyond what’s required for regular maintenance. She’d never had children to grey her hair, so it was the color mine used to be, only shinier and healthier and waist long. She looked ten years younger than me.

I told everyone that I just didn’t need a clone. The truth is, I was jealous and insecure. I couldn’t stand to have someone around who was me, only better. It would be a constant reminder of my short-comings, how I might have looked, if I’d been grown in a clonetorium.  I’d have a lovely disposition too, had I been grown in perfect conditions.   No one had ever said a harsh word to her, lied to her or broken her heart.

I couldn’t stand the thought of her humming around my house, cheerfully doing everything better than I could. I damn sure didn’t want her around my husband.  Oh, hell no!

So I donated her. She’ll be put to good use, in Africa, distributing condoms.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Clone Wars

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clone Wars | life n me!

  2. Very good. I wonder if this is a taste of things to come in the future. At least you found a worthy use for your discarded clone!

  3. Pingback: Daily Promp: Clone Wars | Everyday Adventures

  4. Haha! Fantastic!
    You can have one of my three rather chubby, but happy clones (the most happy is the one who has a week off!)

  5. Love your take on Clonelessness- the idea that you could be jealous of your own clone, because they’re the better version of you is really original.
    Thinking of this prompt, I realised that most people would be tempted to make their clones do the stuff they didn’t want to (like distributing condoms!)But then, if they had our personalities, wouldn’t they become resentful, wouldn’t there be an uprising (note I restrained myself from saying ‘Clone War’!) There would be chaos as the battles raged and no one could work out who was the ‘real’ person and who the clone.
    All in all, I don’t think I’ll bother 🙂

    P.S Can I say, I love your blog idea- speaking as someone who has remained blogless and guilty at being blogless for many years, I thank you for coming forward and being a beacon for the blogless all over the world.

  6. I wrote on this prompt also. Love the way you handled it. http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

