Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

Leave a comment

Scan0033 (2)

1900
Great-grandfather’s first house in the U.S. was made of railroad ties and a sod roof.

Daily Prompt: Second Time Around.

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

One of the few books that I’ve read more than once is “Giants in the Earth” by O.E. Rolvaag. Originally written in Norwegian in 1927, it’s the story of Norwegians who staked their claim in Dakota Territory around the time that my Norwegian great-grandparents were proving up their claim in the same area. That’s what made the book so interesting to me, it described the harshness and drudgery of pioneer life and gave me an idea of what it might have been like for my great-grandparents when they lived under a sod roof on the North Dakota prairie.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

Leave a Reply

