Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall

1 Comment

010

Ikea Tree

Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall.

What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create?

The Long and the Short Of It

Here’s the short and sweet version.  My home is sparsely decorated in subtle earth tones.  The artwork is contemporary, budget minded and nature inspired.

Here’s the If You Really Must Know version.

Kitchen
My collection of vintage fruit crate labels lives in a box now, as do the old teapots that used to decorate the shelves of my vintage-look kitchen in the city house. They just don’t fit in with the new, more contemporary kitchen. Even Grandma’s cookie jar, my pride and joy, is out of sight in a cupboard for fear it will meet up with the granite backsplash and break. The new Cookie Jar Rule is only home made cookies in Grandma’s cookie jar. I’m afraid it won’t get out much.
The only decor in the kitchen now is a few knick-knacks in the window above the sink and three vintage-look metal canisters with labels “Three Crows Coffee”, “Rooster Brand Flour” and “Blackbird Tea.” The real contents are cookie cutters, fridge magnets and plastic utensils for kids.
In the laundry room, next to the kitchen is a Grandma Moses print I bought years ago when Mary Ann and I went to the art museum. The picture looks remarkably like the view I have now, more realistic, of course.
Dining Room  The large picture in the dining room is a matted and framed poster from an art museum.  It’s greens and greys, rocks and reeds and water.  I bought it more than 30 years ago and have never tired of it.
Living Room
The large piece above the sofa is my tree “painting”. It looks like an oil, but really, it’s an Ikea. There’s also japanese style print of maple leaves that my dad’s best friend made, and three ceramic birdies on real twigs. The Mister’s 5×5 mule deer skull and antlers hang above the  hall tree. I had to allow that, the high ceiling there practically cried out for it.
Guest Room
I call it the Heritage Room. The big mirror that used to hang above Grandma’s piano now hangs above Donna’s beautiful antique dresser. Grandma’s nightstand is in there, the bookcase Dad made, the tatting Mister’s grandpa tatted hangs on the wall and in the large closet is the sewing cabinet, also made by Mister’s grandpa. The two little pictures above the bookcase are quiet scenes, empty rowboats at the edge of a reedy pond. There’s also a photo of my son, at age 10 proudly posing with his 56 pound salmon. My sister-in-law gave it to me, nicely framed. She had edited out the hand that reached in to help hold up the big fish.
Master
The master bedroom has an Asian feel. I have two pictures that I bought on ebay from a painter in China. Each picture has a lesson told in Chinese script and ink-brush illustration. One is the story of a man who coveted the fine horses a richer man had, until he saw a poorer man on foot, bent over from the weight of a heavy load on his back. The man  realizes he’s not so bad off and says, “As least I have an ass!” The companion piece shows a man fishing from a mountain top, his line dangles mid-air. The script says that sometimes the point is not to catch a fish, but to enjoy solitude and nature’s beauty.  I wanted to buy a third piece called “You Have Enough Already”, but I couldn’t heed the lesson and buy the picture.
In the master bath I have a copy of the well known woodblock print, “The Great Wave” by Hokusai. I got it at a yard sale.
The Office
Here in “The Office” is where it gets a little cluttered. There a collection of black and white family photos in black collage frames above the desk. A bulletin board over the craft table is covered with photos, phone numbers, memorablilia and stuffed bird ornaments I made last winter. Above the book case Grandpa made there’s currently a photo I took of a bald eagle in a rustic grey wood and white birch frame that my friend made . I also have a picture of a grizzly bear that my daughter gave me and a landscape photo that I took.

I’ve got art stored in boxes that may end up in a yard sale with the teapots and fruit labels.  It’s funny, we have more wall space now, but less on the walls.   I like it this way.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Wall to Wall

  1. We DID need to know and I enjoyed the tour, thanks – you may need a bigger place so you can unpack those storage boxes

Leave a Reply

