Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthyness

1 Comment

Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthy.

Do you feel uncomfortable when you see someone else being embarrassed? What’s most likely to make you squirm?

I don’t mind watching someone else be embarrassed.  It’s interesting to see how they handle it.   Some people are able to laugh it off, some blush, some cry, some lash out and some run away.

I cringe when I see people who should be embarrassed, but aren’t.  When Pat Robertson claims that demons may be clinging to your second-hand clothing; that makes me cringe.  This is in a category known as “species embarassing”.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/02/26/pat-robertson-goodwill-sweaters-demons-praying-video_n_2766810.html

Squirming indicates a more personal level of discomfort, when the conversation gets perilously close to some secret truth about me.  For example, when I was a teenager,  Dad and Grandma, in the front seat of Dad’s car, were lamenting legal abortion, while I squirmed in the back seat, pretty sure that I was pregnant.  That was probably my squirmiest moment ever.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthyness

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cringe-Worthy | life n me!

Leave a Reply

