Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Say Your Name / Too Many Sues

6 Comments

Daily Prompt: Say Your Name.

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?  Photographers, show us YOU.

Too Many Sues

Mother said she meant to name me Susanna Mary, but the nurse spelled it wrong. The nurse named me Susan Marie. I was thankful for the mistake; I thought Susanna was a corny name. But Susan wasn’t much better. Susan was a booring name.  I wished the nurse had named me Valerie or Michelle.

I’m not sure I believe that story anyway. What kind of dumb nurses worked at that hospital? Nurses can’t be that careless with details.  Maybe it wasn’t a nurse, but an aide of some sort. An aide off her meds, naming other people’s babies. She named a lot of them Susan.

In school, there were mutiple Susans in every class. I once had a classmate with the same first, middle and last names! When I transferred to a new high school, needing only a few credits to graduate, the wrong Susan’s transcripts were sent and I was told I needed 17 credits to graduate!

In another wrongful Susan mix-up I received an alarming credit report that besmirched my good name, until I proved that I was not that Susan.

I thought, when I was a kid, that my name should be Robin. I wasn’t crazy about the name, but I thought it suited me because my hair was the same color as a neighbor girl’s, whose name was Robin. Weird logic, I know.

By now I’m quite content with my ordinary name and wrongful Susan events are rare.

Well, there was that one time…and I wasn’t going to show you my mug shot, but here it is.

48220_4669614859524_790855117_o

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Say Your Name / Too Many Sues

  1. You can always say, “it wasn’t me, it was another Susan.” That’s what I do – there’s another woman in the area the same name as mine.

  2. My mum was named by a nurse; Nana wanted to call her Beryl. The nurse pointed out she’d be called Barrel at school… hence Sylvia Beryl! Which no one ever DARED shorten!

  3. I once had a student who had the nurse flip his last name and first name on the birth certificate. HIs parents are from Bangladesh and have a limited grasp of the English language – and didn’t catch it before they signed. So, it has stuck on everything official! Poor kid!

  4. You are a total Susan B. Raven 😉 You would have rocked any name, though.

  5. My father wanted to name my sister Lijerka which is a Croatian name. But it was in Spain in times of Franco and the official in charge said it was no Spanish, no Christian (it is Christian but he wouldn’t understand). My father got tired to discuss with the official and told him to do whatever he wanted because the baby was already baptized as Lijerka (the priest didn’t had any problem), and she was Lijerka for us. But when she had to make her National Identity Document, my father told her to investigate before what was her official name registered. And then we discovered that the old official registered her as “Ana Juana”. So she was in the papers “Ana Juana” until Franco died, the laws changed, and she was able to register her name officially as Lijerka.

  6. Pingback: Identity crisis?! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

