Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Pastalessness

4 Comments

Daily Prompt: Moment of Kindness
Describe a moment of kindness, between you and someone else — loved one or complete stranger.
Photographers, artists, poets: show us KINDNESS.

993531_10151505212976299_10341321_n

Pastalessness

My daughter stopped by this morning with a surprise. Pasta Primavera with Turkey Sausage; my favorite dish in her culinary repertoire. I started eating right away. Second breakfast.

You see, I’m pasta deprived. My husband has a serious aversion to pasta in any form. It’s the texture, he says, comparing it to… well, I’d rather not say.
It’s a quirk I’ve learned to live with, since he’s the main cook and meal planner.

My kids remember eating noodles every night whenever Mr. Fussy was out of town. We still laugh about the time he came home and found a piece of spaghetti stuck to the kitchen wall. That’s how you know it’s done! we informed him. He was so disgusted, you’d have thought we’d thrown doggy-doo on the wall.

I get my pasta jollies when we go out, when I make it for guests, or when my daughter kindly offers me a bowl. I like it best when she makes it.

Here’s the recipe.

PASTA PRIMAVERA WITH TURKEY SAUSAGE

16 oz. farfalle pasta
1 lb. hot Italian turkey sausage
or ground turkey with Italian seasoning
1/2 cup olive oil
4 cloves diced garlic
1/2 diced onion
2 zucchini
1 red bell pepper
2o basil leaves
1/2 cup grated parmesan
2 cubes chicken boullion
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved or 6 romas
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

Boil pasta 8-10 minutes. Cook sausage in large skillet, then set aside. Using half the olive oil, sautee
onion and garlic. Add boullion and veggies, cook until tender. Add pepper flakes. Mix well, add cheese and serve.
009

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Pastalessness

  1. Ha ha. Loved your write up. I am a pasta lover; can eat in any form – pasta , soup or salad 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Thief No More (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: Would you marry me? | Vivir, que no es poco

Leave a Reply

