Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: The Hills Are Alive!

Leave a comment

Cover of "The Sound of Music (Two-Disc 40...

Cover via Amazon

Daily Prompt: The Natural World.

Describe your first memorable experience exploring and spending time in nature. Were you in awe? Or were you not impressed? Would you rather spend time in the forest or the city?
Photographers, artists, and poets: show us NATURE.

The Hills Are Alive!

I was just like Julie Andrews in The Sound of Music, singing my heart out. Not in the alps, but on a mesa above our campsite by the river.

Just like her, except that I was a kid, wearing rattlesnake proof boots and lacking any vocal ability.  But I felt like Julie Andrews.  I threw my arms out wide and twirled glorious twirls, performing for the sunset and the birds. I’d never seen a horizon like that, with nothing but wilderness between me and the sunset.

I wandered around up there, belting out The hills are alive… thinking no one could hear me, but now I wonder. I wasn’t that far from camp. Maybe Dad did hear me, as he sat in the quiet by the campfire. If he did, I’d have been so embarrassed. He would’ve been cracking up. Or maybe he would’ve got teary-eyed, knowing that I was so moved by nature’s beauty.

The Hills Are Alive

The hills are alive with the sound of music
With songs they have sung for a thousand years
The hills fill my heart with the sound of music
My heart wants to sing every song it hears
My heart wants to beat like the wings of the birds that rise from the lake to the trees
My heart wants to sigh like the chime that flies from a church on a breeze
To laugh like a brook as it trips and falls over stones on its way
To sing through the night like a lark who is learning to prey
I go to the hills when my heart is lonely
I know I will hear what I’ve heard before
My heart will be blessed with the sound of music
And I’ll sing once more.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

Leave a Reply

