Overcoming Bloglessness

Still Life At Grandma’s

1 Comment

Scan0004

My dad took this picture of Grandma’s dining room in the late fifties.  It’s best viewed via the old slide projector on the sparkly roller screen in it’s original Kodachrome glory.

I used to set up the old projector and screen and have a slide show in my bedroom when I was a kid.  I’d look at all 250 slides, in living color, all taken by my dad.  It was as good as Disney, for me.

I am there, in Grandma’s kitchen.   I can smell the cookies.

No, wait.  That’s the way the slide projector smells when it warms up.  But I like that smell too.

Grandma’s yellow cart has been painted white and then rusted some, but I still use it in my laundry room.  I donated the silver tea set when it didn’t sell at the estate sale.   I donated the slide projector and sparkly roller screen.  I kept most of the slides and had prints made of favorites, like this one.

I wish I’d kept the funny smelling old projector and sparkly screen.  My granddaughters and I would love a slide show.

I wish I could sit at that table.   I’d have to iron that tablecloth though.  Just a touch up.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

One thought on “Still Life At Grandma’s

  1. Pingback: men and women basketball nfl jerseys supplier

Leave a Reply

