Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Too Soon? Not In This Case

3 Comments

 

Daily Prompt: Too Soon?.

Can anything be funny, or are some things off limits? Photographers, artists, poets: show us FUNNY.

He’s With Elvis Now

There are some things you don’t touch. When someone has lost a child or loved one, you don’t do funny.

Unless you know the person very well.

When Dee’s husband died, sympathy cards were passed around at work. It was hard to think of anything meaningful and helpful and brief to write on the company card. Comments such as “He’s in a better place” or “He’s with Jesus now” really got my goat.

What came to my mind was, He’s with Elvis now. Gary was a big Elvis fan, not a church-goer.

I couldn’t bring myself to write that on the group sympathy card. Not that Dee would’ve been offended; she’d have a laugh! But The Others, the co-workers would be aghast; probably void the card and start over. I wrote something lame like, So sorry.

I told her in person though, when I delivered the flowers, card and cash donation. I told her what I wanted to write. 

He’s with Elvis now.

Alone together, we had a good laugh.

Timing is everything.

2d25807adf6881ca9acbfc564934909d

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Too Soon? Not In This Case

  1. Awesome! Made me smile 🙂

  2. Pingback: YOUR KIND OF LOVE ENDED TRUST FOR ME | hastywords

  3. Sign of a true friend.

    It annoys me too, sometimes. Someone I know posted a picture of a stillborn child’s tombstone (his own, I think). It said, “born asleep, our little miracle”. My first thought was, “what part of that was a miracle?!” If I were him I’d be asking why God had born the kid asleep in the first place. Scary Bastard. But it’s a comfort. You can’t be angry at people for clinging to comforts, can you?

Leave a Reply

