Overcoming Bloglessness

Birdnado Report

2 Comments

Birdnado

004The birdnado of tree swallows that had been gathering every evening ended on August 6th. All of a sudden, no more tree swallows.

Now that the tree swallows have gone away, a family of mountain bluebirds have taken over the backyard.  They spend their mornings and evenings hanging around the birdbath, preening and sunning, lounging and pooping on the furniture. It’s fun to see them enjoying furniture.

042

003

043

005

Hummers
042
Hummingbirds still stop by, but don’t stay long now that they’re favorite flowers are fading.

043
These two fought for control of the little trellis.

American Goldfinch
028
I was pleased to see a pair of American goldfinches have discovered the birdbath. Maybe someday I’ll get a good picture of one. They don’t sit still like the bluebirds.

Red-naped Sapsucker
013
I think this is a juvenile red-naped sapsucker, but it was hard to see color, back-lit like that.

Sandhill cranes raised a ruckus this morning, but would not show themselves. I know they’re out there! I love their prehistoric sounding voices. I wish they’d show up at the birdbath!
I got these shots of them last May.

008

021<

That’s the Birdnado Report!

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

2 thoughts on “Birdnado Report

  1. Huh, i just need to think of hitchcock… (;-)))

Leave a Reply

