Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Toy Story

1 Comment

Daily Prompt: Toy Story.

What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy? Photographers, artists, poets: show us MEMENTO.

Toys

My toys were beloved the day I got them. Each day after that they rapidly depreciated into junk. Toys mingled with dirty socks and dust bunnies under the bed. In the closet, toys were a heap I seldom picked through.  Chatty Cathy and Barbie ended up naked, dirty and broken in the jumble.

I spent hours on my little red trike, riding around and around our small patio. I remember riding it when I was too big and my knees hit the handlebars. Then I graduated to the big, blue bike.
?????

I suppose the bike is the plaything I spent the most time with, riding all over the neighborhood, much farther from home than children are allowed to ride these days.

I tried to recreate the Big Blue Bike experience a few years back. I bought a brand new Big Blue with a basket and a bell, top of the line.
“You’ll never ride it”, my husband said. Well he is wrong again!
I rode it once this summer.

4350_1063455390629_1356298_n

I’m the one keeled over.

I take better care of my toys now. You won’t find any under my bed. I keep them in a toy box so I can always find them when I need them.

Now, won’t you join me for a spot of tea?

430687_2553011108591_1218469198_n

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Toy Story

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Leave a Reply

