Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Clean House 2

2 Comments

Daily Prompt: Clean House.

Is there “junk” in your life? What kind? How do you get rid of it?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us JUNK.
crochet

Purge

This is my mother’s handiwork. She crocheted a lot when I was a kid, always this same pattern. She didn’t even have to look; her hands just went on auto pilot, working the needle, working the needle back and forth like a machine while she watched the afternoon movie. She made doilies and dresser scarves, tablecloths and bedspreads. At least, she’d say it was going to be a bedspread or a tablecloth. I don’t recall seeing one on a bed or table.

This piece had been in my linen closet forever. I don’t know if it was meant for bed or table. I wouldn’t have it on either. It looked unfinished, too small for bed or table and lacking a border. The only time I’d ever used it for anything was when I pinned it over the patio for a bit of shade on a hot day. That’s when I took this picture. After that day it went back into storage.

I kept the piece because I respect handiwork. I kept it out of a sense of obligation. It was the only thing I had, made by my mother, but I felt no fondness for it. In fact, it annoyed me every time I saw it, taking up precious storage space. Why do I keep something I have no use for, made by someone I couldn’t stand?

I chucked it one day during a cleaning spree. I didn’t want to be bothered with shuffling it around anymore. I took the thing to the garbage can, I dropped it in and I dusted myself off. It felt good. It felt cleansing. And I kind of wished she could have seen me do it.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Clean House 2

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clean House | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Clean House- My lack of Feng-Shui | Talking Student

Leave a Reply

