Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Exhale My Ex

9 Comments

35059_1333170293333_1867383_n

Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright. Photographers, artists, poets: show us SAFETY.

via Daily Prompt: Exhale.

The Ex

He was an alcoholic.

He spent the rent money on beer.

He sold his plasma to buy beer.

He’d disappear for days.

He couldn’t hold a job.

He wrecked cars.

He went to jails.

Court dates.

Fines.

Drugs.

Guns.

Then I found him in bed with my sister.

That’s when I knew everything was going to be all right.

No rage, no angry tears.

That’s how I knew I was done.

I didn’t care.

They were both so pitiful.

Drunk and desperate.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Exhale My Ex

  1. Wow! Love that twist at the end. Thank you for visiting my blog!

  2. Pingback: The Gremmie’s Lament | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Yes! Other people can urge you to leave all they like, but you have to stay until you know it’s OK to go

    • You’re so right. I divorced him after 2 years, at my father’s urging, but I let him move back in. It took another 2 years to finally give up on him and break away emotionally.

  5. This is such a strong piece – evidence that you have moved on and rebuilt your life.

    Very powerful.

Leave a Reply

