Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough

8 Comments

Daily Prompt: Can't Get Enough.

Have you ever been addicted to anything, or worried that you were? Have you ever spent too much time and effort on something that was a distraction from your real goals? Tell us about it. Photographers, artists, poets: show us ADDICTING.

Less Is More

I went through a long collecting phase. It started with duck salt and pepper sets. I dabbled in Royal Copenhagen plates and flowery, reticulated Bavarian dishes. I had a cupboard full of vases, a dozen ceramic teapots, vintage fruit crate labels, a rubber stamp collection and, most embarrassing of all, the Beanie Baby phase.

Husband asked one day, “Why don’t you try collecting money?”

Ha-ha! Funny man.

But that’s all in the past. I’m currently in a non-collecting, anti-clutter phase.

I just imagine, after I die, someone going through my house, planning an estate sale. Do I want them to be amazed by all the crap I’ve collected? Or do I want them to marvel at how tidy and organized everything is? I’d rather impress them with tidiness.

I donated a lot of junk when we moved into this house. I didn’t go to a single yard sale all summer. I’m not exactly collecting money, but I’m not amassing stuff anymore.

Less is more, that’s my new motto.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Can’t Get Enough | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. You sound like me… I still do thrift stores and an occasional garage sale, but I’m not nearly as bad as before… I try to stick to very pricie items…

  3. I’m so sorry for what I’m about to write – but I loved that line – never saw it coming – “Husband asked one day, โ€œWhy donโ€™t you try collecting money?โ€

    I can’t stop chuckling at this – such a smart-ass comment – but for some reason, it resonates with me.

    I’m glad that you’ve found your way with the collecting – whatever makes you happy. There is a pleasure about living in “tidy” – it gives one room to breathe, expand, explore, and live.

Leave a Reply

