Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Fright Night: After The Exorcist

6 Comments

005Do you like being scared by books, films, and surprises? Describe the sensation of being scared, and why you love it — or don’t. Photographers, artists, poets: show us FRIGHTENING.Daily Prompt: Fright Night.

After The Exorcist

Home alone, I was reading in bed when the hall light came on.

By itself.

It had never done that before. There must be a short, I thought.

I got up, a bit unnerved, turned the hall light off and got back into bed. I clicked off the bedside lamp and snuggled down under the covers.

In a minute, the hall light came on.

Again.

By itself.

I was frozen with fear, too afraid to get up and turn the light off again. Too scared to move. Is something there? Did I open some evil portal, by watching “The Exorcist”? I didn’t even really believe in demons or ghosts.

But I could be wrong.

I got brave enough to click the bedside lamp back on. Nothing amiss, nothing flying across the room, nothing dripping down the walls, bed not levitating, head not spinning.

Yet.

Eventually I fell asleep in my scared stiff position with the bedside light on and the hall light on.

In the morning the hall light worked normally. On was on and Off was off. It never malfunctioned again.

I still don’t believe in ghosts or demons.

Nevertheless,

I don’t like scary movies.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Fright Night: After The Exorcist

  1. Pingback: Scare-raising: it’s not just for anyone anymore! | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Creepy. Totally creepy.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fright Night | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Yes, that is frightening! | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: Fright Night NOT Fun Daily Prompt | DragonMommie's World

  6. Pingback: Yes, that is frightening! - Processing the Life

Leave a Reply

