Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Michelangelo’s Significant Fisher

7 Comments

 

Daily Prompt: Michelangelo’s YOU.

Your personal sculptor is carving a person, thing, or event from the last month of your life into the glistening marble of immortality. What’s the statue and what makes it so significant? Photographers, artists, poets: show us SIGNIFICANT.

Significant Fisher

I am a fisher. One who catches fish.

The recently unveiled statue commemorates a significant day in fishing history; the day I became a real fisher. The day I caught The Big One. By myself.

I baited my own hook, with apologies to the worm. I chose which spot on the bank to fish, I cast the line out and Boom! I got a hit right away! I must’ve instinctively plopped wormy right in front of Trout’s nose. I yanked hard to set the hook and started reeling.

The big trout leapt out of the water like he was on the cover of Field and Stream, but his aerial trick didn’t work. My hook held fast as I played him in. He was a fighter! I was afraid I’d loose him, but by the time I’d worked him close to shore he was played out. I’d won the battle.

It was a fat rainbow trout, nearly 15 inches long; the biggest trout either Husband or I had caught all summer and the best fight ever.

I held it high for Husband to behold and gave a victorious, yet humble woo-hoo! That is the moment the sculptor chose to capture.

The statue was ceremoniously installed on a round-about in the middle of Main street. The citizens have since petitioned the city to put a stop light there so they’d have more time to take it in. Some folks say it’s good luck to stroke my fish.

025

May this significant piece of art continue to inspire fishers for generations

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Michelangelo’s Significant Fisher

  1. Congratulations! My grandmother was a great fisherwoman – me, not so much.

  2. I’d love to stroke the trout!
    P.S. Love the name of your blog 😀

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Michelangelo’s You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Ascher bochor aabar hobe | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: The Thinker & Me | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

