Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Sad But True

13 Comments

Daily Prompt: Sad But True.

Tell us about the harshest, most difficult to hear — but accurate — criticism you’ve ever gotten. Does it still apply? Photographers, artists, poets: show us HARSH.

Harsh

I’m going to tweek this a little bit so it applies to my day. Today I am sick of conflict over religion.

Dotter told me that her husband was mad at me again over religion. Here’s what happened.

My granddaughter Missy, who is seven, asked me a couple of months ago, “Do you believe in god?” This is a topic I wouldn’t bring up myself, but she asked me and I answered, “No, I don’t.” “Me neither” she quickly responded. “I do”, said her little sister who is five. I told them that I was not comfortable discussing it with them, that I didn’t want to upset their dad. Let’s play and have fun.

On another day, she asked me why I have bibles if I don’t believe in god. I explained that one was my dad’s bible and one was my grandma’s and that I used to go to Sunday school and church but I didn’t ever feel I could love Jesus, someone I couldn’t see. I said that even if you don’t believe, it’s good to know what other people believe. Now, let’s play.

Little sister, has recently decided to start saying grace at dinnertime and Missy has decided not to say Amen with the rest of the family. Daddy got upset about that and had a talk with Missy. She told him (after quizzing, I assume) what I had said. Now her dad is mad at me. He thinks I have an agenda. He thinks her non-belief is my doing. He will probably want to limit my contact with her.

I heard all this from my daughter who is trying to stay neutral. She’s trying to stay married. She just wanted to tip me off that he’s mad. Again.

I’ve never been disrespectful to him, but he takes my non-belief personally. It’s insulting to him, that I don’t believe in his god.

I half expected him to call today, but he didn’t, so maybe he’s cooled off. I hope he’ll just let it go. I think that would be best.

I just wonder what Missy is feeling now. Believers have a tendency to shame little girls who don’t believe.
Sad, but true.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

13 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sad But True

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sad But True | Processing the life

  2. Oh so true. You nailed it here: “he takes my non-belief personally. Itโ€™s insulting to him, that I donโ€™t believe in his god.”

  3. I wouldn’t believe in his god either. Sounds thoroughly intolerant, unloving and unkind to me. Tell him to check Corinthians 13. (I’m not a church-goer, don’t have an evangelical bone in my body, but Anglican boarding school was useful: helps to have a good stock of bible quotes to block attempts to save my soul.)

  4. That is sad… Hopefully, he’ll come around…

  5. I was 10 years old when my mother decided to become a Jehohvah’s Witness. 40 years on, after she tried every trick in the book – emotional blackmail, threats, the silent treatment, etc – to convert me, and me patiently letting her have her say but saying little in return for fear of upsetting her, I (her atheist daughter) told her I’d had enough of her harassment on the subject and that it was time she gave it up – and, it seems she has..I wrote about it in a poem
    http://beeblu.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/weekly-photo-challenge-path/
    I hope your SIL will come to his sense re your relationship with your granddaughter much sooner.

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Harsh – Poem / Poetry – “The Survey” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

