Overcoming Bloglessness

Ghost Town

8 Comments

Bannack is a well preserved little ghost town near Dillon in southwest Montana.  A gold mining town, it was the first territorial capitol of Montana. It’s hard to believe, nearly 10,000 people once lived here.  I’m glad I got visit on a cool November day when no other tourists were present.

108

038

050

Montana’s first jail.  1862

103

Built in 1875, this was the county courthouse until 1881. In 1890 the building was purchased by Dr. John Meade and became a plush hotel which operated until the 1940’s.  Some folks say it’s haunted.

040

Schoolhouse and Masonic Temple built in 1874

034

065

032

113

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bannack,_Montana
http://www.bannack.org/

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

8 thoughts on “Ghost Town

  1. Who cleans up as if no one lives there? Looks all so neatly made​​.

    • There was a flash flood in July that damaged most of the 60 buildings. A lot of restoration and clean up has been done since then. Bannack is now a state park.

      • It’s nice to hear that there is still someone who holds such a reminder restored and repaired. How did we imagine our future, if we did not honor our past.

  2. Absolutely haunting images. 🙂

    • It’s a fun place to shoot. I wanna go back!

      • I can so understand that – all that atmosphere and ambiance – totally captivating – and can you imagine if the weather was different? Misty or rainy? Or early morning light – or direct sun? Wow – endless possibilities for sure! Hope you get the chance to visit again!

Leave a Reply

