Overcoming Bloglessness

The Saddest Day

Leave a comment

I heard it from the milk money girl at the end of the cafeteria line as I handed over my nickle. She was a Special Ed. student with a loud voice; the only girl in school with boobs.

“Did you hear? President Kennedy…bang-bang.” She pointed her hand up to her head like a gun when she delivered the bang-bang. I took my little carton of milk, wondering what was going on that day. Why was there a television in the hall by the principal’s office? Why were the teachers crying?

President Kennedy…bang-bang.

I remember the funeral in black and white, the sad drumbeat, the clopping horses’ hooves. It was my first funeral; the saddest day ever in my eight years.

Mom was mad her show wasn’t on. She hated the president, even on the saddest day.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

Leave a Reply

