Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: A Horse

3 Comments

Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’.

Tell us about the one luxury item you wish you could afford, in as much detail as you can. Paint a picture for us.   Photographers, artists, poets: show us COVET.

Horses

A Horse

I seriously coveted Becky Palmer’s collection of Breyer model horses. Her dresser was crowded with playful, straddling foals, serene mares and majestic stallions with wind-blown manes. They pawed the air and tossed their heads, they gazed lovingly back at admirers like me.

I invited Becky to my birthday party thinking surely she’d give me a Breyer horse. That’s what we love, right?  What a let-down!  I don’t remember what gift she gave, but it wasn’t a horse.

I read all the horsey books I could find.  Flip was the first.  The Black Stallion series fed my fantasies for years. I dreamed of mucking out stalls. I wouldn’t mind! Horse poop is the best.

flip

Alas, I was a city girl. We had no room for a horse in the yard or in the budget. Dad used to take me riding now and then and he promised we’d take a camping trip with horses someday, if I learned my multiplication tables. The promise was forgotten, or expired before I learned my tables, in my twenties.

Now I live in a place where I could have a horse. But when I think about the expenses; fencing, shelter, feed and veterinary care, saddle, bridle, halter, ropes, blankets, grooming tools and on and on; well, a horse ain’t going to happen here. Even a miniature horse would take a huge bite out of the budget.

032

If money were no object I’d buy the acreage across the road and build a deluxe barn with an upstairs apartment for a full-time stableboy caretaker. I won’t buy any expensive, pedigreed breeds. Instead I’ll adopt wild horses and whisper them into docility. I’ll take in neglected and abused horses and give them a forever home.

And I’ll buy a whole dresser-full of Breyer horses. Neener-neener, Becky Palmer!

048

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: A Horse

  1. Pingback: All I Ever Wanted Was An MG Midget | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Keeping up with the Jones’ | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Keeping up with the Jones’ | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

