Overcoming Bloglessness

Daily Prompt: Arachnid Factor

14 Comments

People are afraid of all kinds of things: spiders, the dark, or being enclosed in small spaces. Tell us about your greatest fear — rational or irrational.Photographers, artists, poets: show us COURAGE.

via Daily Prompt: Fear Factor.

Arachnid Factor

Spiders are the worst. They’re ugly and evil and I kill them hard. I’ve broken my Swiffer whacking a spider. If I can’t get it with my Swiffer, I evacuate.

I was trapped by a horrible, huge, probably venomous spider at work one day, in the Ladies room. Hairspray didn’t kill it; not fast enough anyway. I screwed my courage up and wacked it with a shoe, hard as I could. Way harder than necessary. I’m surprised I didn’t sprain my arm.

Apparently, I obliterated it. Vaporized it. Couldn’t find it’s carcass anywhere. I checked the shoe; it wasn’t stuck there. I started checking my sleeves, my pant legs, my hair. Where the hell did it go? I did the Involuntary Spider Dance, slapping myself silly. It took hours to get over the trauma. It took days to go into the Ladies room without checking for spiders.

Days later I saw it again, or maybe it’s brother. That time there was a janitor in the building, so I asked him to take care of the spider. Did he kill it hard? No. He gently carried it outside!

Stupid, stupid janitor!

Check out this nightmare; fields of spider webs so thick, it looks like snow. Hideous snow, full of spiders.
http://www.viralnova.com/spider-fields/

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

14 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Arachnid Factor

  1. Pingback: daily prompt- Greatest Fear | The cozy nook

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fear Factor | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. I’m not fan, but i don’t kill them.

  4. you remind me of Ron Weasley from Harry Potter who was also afraid of spiders 🙂

  5. Pingback: Phobophobia | Processing the life

  6. Pingback: I’m afraid I forgot the title of this one . . . | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: Fear Factor | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  8. Pingback: Fear Factor | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  9. I’m not afraid of spiders but that is just terrifying – and I live in Australia, so thanks, lol

Leave a Reply

