Overcoming Bloglessness

I Didn’t Do Nothin’

2 Comments

032

Daily Prompt: Random Act of Kindness.

Tell us about the time when you performed a secret random act of kindness — where the recipient of your kindness never found out about your good deed. How did the deed go down?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us SECRET.

I’m sure I secretly did something nice once. I just don’t remember what.
Mr. Raven, he’s the nice one. He mowed our neighbor’s lawn; the neighbor with cancer. I had been wondering what I could do for her. He went over and did something.

Some months later, when I met her at the mailbox, the neighbor said she had something for me at the house. Whatever for? For being such good neighbors.

I felt wretched. I hadn’t done anything nice. I didn’t deserve a gift. It would be Mr. Raven’s gift. We walked to her house together and she gave me a lovely, rustic looking birdhouse.
I love birdhouses! It made me weepy. Sometimes I’m just soppy like that.

Today I gave her a Christmas card and two homemade felt bird ornaments. Tomorrow I’m going to walk her dog.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

2 thoughts on “I Didn’t Do Nothin’

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Random Act of Kindness | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: A little mind-twister on random kindnesses | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a comment