Overcoming Bloglessness

My Bright Idea

8 Comments

Daily Prompt: Brainwave.

What’s the best idea you’ve ever had? Regale us with every detail of the idea — the idea itself, where it came to you, and the problem it solved.  Photographers, artists, poets: show us BRIGHT.
017

My Bright Idea

It was the end of summer and I was at my wit’s end. Mr. Raven would not stop working; prying rocks out of the hard-packed dirt, washing the rocks and using them for a border between the road and the future lawn. He sorted the rocks by size, using different sizes in different areas of the yard. He sifted the dirt through screens, pulling out weeds and roots. He carefully raked the sifted soil level. Buckets and buckets and buckets of rocks and rocks and rocks, all day, no matter how scorching hot, no matter how windy and cold. Only rain would stop him. I got him on the rainy days.

It had to be done and this was the most economical way to do it: old-fashioned, back-breaking labor. I helped him some days. I sat in the dirt and sorted rocks by size. I pressed dirt through screens. I washed rocks and dumped them in their designated areas on properly laid out landscaping fabric. It was a great work-out and at the end of the day he would brag about how little he weighed. I liked the weight-loss aspect of it too, but the back-aches got me down and I thought I might’ve herniated something. This was not how I’d intended to spend my retirement; busting my butt for a manicured yard.

Neighbors would stop and ask if he was digging for gold. One chap asked, “Working on Sunday? No church?”

“No, no church”, said I. God wants us to sort these rocks.

By the end of August he was running out of rocks and I was running out of summer. That’s when I had my bright idea.

You know, where there’s a lot of rocks? Down by the river. Pretty rocks, and they’re pre-washed!

That’s how I got him down to the river. I lured him with rocks. We drove right onto the rocky shore and loaded up buckets and buckets and buckets of rocks. We had a truckload in no time. At home we dumped them from the truck onto properly laid-out landscaping cloth. Easy peasy, no washy.

Mr. Raven said next time we should bring the fishing gear.

Yes!

We took fishing gear and folding chairs, sunscreen and sunhats and a cooler with libations. We loaded up our rock buckets in no time, then relaxed by the river and caught fish. We went every day until all the landscaping fabric was covered with rock. Topsoil arrived and grass seed was planted.

Finally! We stopped gathering rocks and started living like proper retired people, lounging by the sparkling river in the warm summer sun.

That was my bright idea.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

8 thoughts on “My Bright Idea

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Brainwave | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Brilliant. You and Mr Raven sound very much me and my better half: slow to arrive at solutions, but when they come they’re beauties! 🙂

  3. Brilliant! Happy New Year to you and Mr Raven. I have a bright idea, but need a trustworthy engineer to help me bring it to fruition.

  4. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With A Shade Of Pen – Poem / Poetry – “A Storm Within” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  5. Pingback: A Storm Within « A Shade Of Pen

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Brainwave | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

