Overcoming Bloglessness

Beyond the Pale, Up the Mountain

4 Comments

Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale.

I never understood that phrase,Beyond the pale. I thought it meant more than a bucket-full, but now I know better. I looked it up and found that pale is an old word for a stake or a fence made of pales or the safe area within a paling fence.
Now that I understand that, I can move on.

40850_1360421294591_6798831_n

Beyond the Pale, Up the Mountain

I went to an art fair one sweltery summer day. Arleta street had been closed to vehicles and given over to pedestrians. Artists and vendors set their booths up on the sidewalk, musicians played and colorful mingling crowds filled the street. I took my time browsing the wares on the north side of the street, then moseyed back down the south side.

The Pine Tree had rolled up it’s big garage door, opening the bar up to the sidewalk. I spied an empty stool at the bar. I don’t usually go into bars, midday, by myself, but I was hot and thirsty and decided to treat myself to lunch. That’s where I met Val, sitting at the bar. Her son, a talented art student, had a booth at the fair and she had come from the east coast to see him.

We hit it off right away, gabbing like old friends as we ate our sandwiches and drank our drinky-poos. After lunch we hit the street fair together, laughing like crazy as we tried on silly hats and cattily critiqued the bohemian crowd. I met her son and her son’s dog. We exchanged facebook info. I had a new friend.

On her Facebook page I got to see all the touristy things Val had done while in town. Val at the Rose Garden, Val at Multnomah Falls, Val riding the ski-lift up the side of Mt. Hood.
Wait, what?
I didn’t know you could ride the ski-lift in the summer. I’d never been a skier, never ridden the lift up the slope of my beloved mountain. I imagined I’d be scared stiff that far above ground, but now I had to do it. I’d lived near that mountain all my life and never seen the view from up there. So, not long after meeting Val, Husband and I rode the ski-lift up Mt. Hood.  It was exhilarating!  Beautiful! A little bit scary, but I loved it!

If I hadn’t gone beyond the pale, into a bar at midday, alone, I wouldn’t have met my new friend. If I hadn’t met Val, I might never have ridden beyond the pale, up my mountain, higher than I’d ever been before.
40204_1360421454595_7395572_n

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

4 thoughts on “Beyond the Pale, Up the Mountain

  1. http://marthakennedy.wordpress.com/2014/01/04/a-new-sandbox-daily-prompt/ I love mountains. Mt. Hood was the first volcanic peak I ever saw! I was stunned — all of them are amazing (well, all mountains…)

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Beyond the Pale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Oh dear WordPress! | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

