Overcoming Bloglessness

Newsroom Quirkologist

12 Comments

Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit.

Which quirky habit annoys you the most, and what quirky habit do you love — in yourself, or others.
Photographers, artists, poets: show us QUIRKY.

011

Newsroom Quirkologist

I’m a critical viewer of local television meteorologists. It’s a hobby, sort of. It’s fun, like catching a typo.

Let me start with the meteorologists and announcers that say meet-o-rol-o-gist. What is that? Someone who studies meat?
Can you say me-te-o-rol-o-gist? Six syllables, not five. You’ve been to college, you have a degree, you should be able to correctly pronounce your own title.

My favorite local meteorologist, Mark Metro, pronounces all the syllables. He can even say par-tic-u-lar-ly with all five syllables, which earns him bonus points. So many people say par-tic-yur-ly with four syllables. Don’t use big words if you can’t pronounce all the syllables.

Let’s go to Brooke at the weatherboard. I call her The Weathermom. She does a good job of reporting the weather, but then she tells the viewers how to dress.
You’ll need a sweater today. Dress in layers.  Bundle-up the kiddos.  Grab an umbrella.

But Weathermom, what about footwear? Flip-flops or mukluks?

Weathermom also offers advice like Allow some extra time to warm up the car/scrape your windshield/get to work on time and Slow down out there on the roads. Allow extra stopping time. Watch out for children. I know she means well, but please, just give me the weather facts and assume I’m smart enough to dress and drive accordingly.

Do local viewers really need that much advice? I mean, I’m new to the area. Maybe it’s not the custom here, to look out the window when deciding what to wear.

Back home, Rick Rainman used to get my goat every time he mentioned the jet stream. He couldn’t say jet stream without adding, that river of wind that steers the storms. Yes Rick, we know what the jet stream is. You don’t have to dumb it down every single night. I suppose he did it for the sake of all the children who watch the news. As if.

The new guy at the station, Matt Weatherladd, is adorable. When he tilts those serious eyebrows just so, I can’t help but giggle. He’s nervous on camera and that’s understandable; I would be nervous too. Still, Husband and I count the number of times he says excuse me in each segment, or basically or fumbles a sentence into garbled nonsense. He’s just learning though, so I cut him some slack. He’s got a good job at a young age and I admire him for that.

My current number one peeve in local weather-casting is this phrase: As we move through the overnight hours… Why not just say overnight? As I move through the overnight hours, I’m usually in fetal position.
WeatherMom and Weatherladd use the phrase in every forecast segment; sometimes more than once. As we move toward the weekend… As if we could walk to the weekend.
007

I respect the folks who bring us news and weather. They have to get up ridiculously early and look sharp by five in the morning. They brave blizzards and floods to give us up to the minute information. I appreciate that. I’m just doing my job.
I’m an amateur Newsroom Quirkologist and this is information meteorologists need to know.
Fair, accurate and to the point.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

12 thoughts on “Newsroom Quirkologist

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk Of Habit | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Quirk of Habit | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  4. Pingback: Quirky | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: Children’s Oddities | A mom's blog

  6. Oh yes! These are the occasions I talk to the television. My current bugbear is ‘Os-chray-a’.

  7. I think the major problem lies with speed. Everyone is in such a damn hurry to spurt it all out that everything gets lost in the shuffle and slurred. Too much filler and “dumbing down” in general reportage now a days, as in life. Irksome.

    Great post.

  8. Interesting post!
    For some reason I get annoyed (or amused) when our weather man says “the Sun will rise at 6.05am (or similar). I feel like he is actually quite surprised that the sun WILL rise – why not just say Sunrise?

  9. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Modern Ragnarok” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

