Overcoming Bloglessness

One Raven

5 Comments

Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation.

If you could have a guarantee that one, specific person was reading your blog, who would you want that person to be? Why? What do you want to say to them?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us ONE.

One Raven

001

I’d be pleased if author/professor Bernd Heinrich saw my raven pictures and was so intrigued he came by for a visit.  I’d have made such progress with the local corvids by then, I’d step out on the porch and call “Raven!” and soon we’d see them sailing over the fields toward us.  Mr. Heinrich would be delighted when the birds come in for a landing on my lawn. I’ll help him conduct some experiments to test the raven’s problem solving abilities. Maybe we’ll hang some meat from a string on a perch and watch them figure out how to get to it. It won’t be long before they’re reeling it by beak and by foot.

003

He might like to go hiking in the forest, to look for the raven’s nest. When we find it, he’ll climb 100 feet up the treetop to examine the nest and contents. He won’t be deterred by wind or snow. I’ll wait down below and examine the area below the nest to see what the ravens have thrown out.

Mr. Heinrich might want to get up early the next morning and hide in a blind before sunrise with a notepad and a thermos of hot coffee. He’ll quietly spend the day observing the raven’s behavior at a carcass where they’re feeding. He’ll note the number of times the ravens say CAW! and how many times they say KKRRRR! or RAAWK! He’ll see the ravens telling other ravens where the food is, unlike other animals who like to keep food sources a secret.

002
I wouldn’t be allowed to sit in the blind. I wouldn’t be able to keep quiet and let him do his work.
I’m sure the professor would enjoy observing my raven friends. I’d know I’d enjoy observing Mr. Heinrich.

A film about Bernd Heinrich
http://www.jancannonfilms.com/berndheinrichvideoclips.htm

Books by Bernd Heirich

books%20cropped%2025
University of Vermont Bernd Heinrich, Professor, Emeriti
http://www.uvm.edu/~biology/?Page=faculty/heinrich.php&SM=facultysubmenu.html

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

5 thoughts on “One Raven

  1. I love this!

    One day I was hiking up a wall in the hills that border San Diego. There was a face I liked to hike up, a very steep hike (60 degrees?) On top were rocks, granite boulders. One windy winter day I reached the last part where I would have to pull myself up between two huge boulders. I noticed a half a dozen ravens there. I pulled myself up and as I did, the ravens really did “move over” to get out of my way. I sat down in a small hollow to the side of one boulder, looking out toward the ocean and watching the birds. They were TAKING TURNS surfing the thermals coming up the wall. It was enchanting. They were PLAYING. They were awesome.

    Here you can see the landscape somewhat. It’s not Montana, but it was a lot of fun.

  2. Pingback: Singular sensation | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Singular Sensation | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

Leave a Reply

