Overcoming Bloglessness

I Should Have Gone To Scientist School

12 Comments

Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way.

Describe the one decision in your life where you wish you could get a “do-over.” Tell us about the decision, and why you’d choose to take a different path this time around.
Photographers, artists, poets: show us ITERATION.
_________

I’m often mistaken for a scientist.

Well, it did happen once. Recently. I was flattered at first and I thought it was funny, seeing as how I’ve never gone to college. Then I started to worry that maybe I’d come off as a Know-It-All. Maybe I’d participated too much in the conversation with the wildlife biologist. She was the one who had asked me, “Are you a scientist?”

I admitted I’m not a scientist. It just so happens that I’d recently read about the topics that came up.

I’d really enjoyed our conversation about the plight of the caribou and the effects of climate change on snowshoe hares, and Bernd Heinrich books. I liked this biologist.
I saw myself, for a moment, in her job. I was surprised to find myself wishing that I was a scientist. I could’ve done that.

Why didn’t I?

I had no idea what I wanted to be when I grew up. I lacked confidence. I lacked inspiration. I didn’t feel worthy. I let life happen to me, not realizing my own power. My need to be loved and wanted outweighed everything else.

It would’ve taken more than one decision change to get me to scientist. It would’ve taken a different childhood altogether.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

12 thoughts on “I Should Have Gone To Scientist School

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did It My Way | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did It My Way | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. I hear you absolutely.

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | The Wandering Poet

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | planningforaccidents

  7. Isn’t it ridiculous that important decisions, like what you want to be when you grow up, are left to those too young to understand? It should go the other way. We should start old, with wisdom and experience, and then become younger so we have the energy to enjoy the life we created.

  8. I wish I’d done the same.

  9. Well sometimes we don’t get what we want in life, but we get what we need. The fact that you continue to learn, research and grow Susan, and share your passions and interests with others, means that you don’t necessarily need the certificate and diploma. Sometimes just being YOU is more than enough 🙂

    • What a nice thought, with a hint of Rolling Stones. I like it. Thank you!
      I’m more interesting in learning now than I ever was in school.

      • I can so understand and appreciate this Susan. But I think what we forget is this “Not one size fits all” – most likely because we need to learn as we move through life – challenging ourselves and following our interests – which means, often, in a non-traditional setting – so, the question isn’t “Why aren’t I like most people?” but rather “Why not?” Let us learn as we see fit – 🙂

Leave a Reply

