Overcoming Bloglessness

Visions

3 Comments

Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This).

What is the best dream you’ve ever had? Recount it for us in all its ethereal glory. If no dream stands out in your memory, recount your worst nightmare. Leave no frightening detail out.   Photographers, artists, poets: show us IMAGINARY.
_________

005

Visions

When the tree hit the foot of the bed it jolted me wide awake.   It took me a few seconds to realize it was only a dream.  It felt so real!  I swear I nearly fell out of bed when the tree hit.

I wondered why would I dream about a tree falling across the foot of the bed.  There were no towering evergreens near my house; it’s not something I worried about.

I filed it in the Weird Dream category and went about my morning routine: coffee and local news.  What a surprise to see on the news that while I slept, a couple had narrowly escaped death or serious injury when an enormous evergreen tree fell on their house, right across the foot of the bed in which they slept.

Coincidence?

I’ve had other dreams that came true; short, one scene dreams.

A place with tables twenty feet long and irons hanging from the ceiling.   It stuck in my head.  How bizarre!  Irons hanging from the ceiling?!

Months after that dream I got a job in a drapery shop, pressing hems on a huge table with an iron that hung from the ceiling.  It wasn’t exactly my dream job, but I did dream it!

But let me tell you the weirdest dream that came true.  (Vegans and sensitive readers, please avert your eyes.  This is a hunting story.)

I told the dream to my husband as we drove through the forest in pre-dawn darkness.  It was opening day of deer season.  I told him all about the dream I’d had the night before; how I spied a buck and shot at it, but it just stood there.  I thought I’d missed, so I fired again and this time it took off lickety-split, to the left and then Husband emerged from the woods on the right and together we started looking for the buck.

Husband probably was only half listening when I told him my dream; you know how they do?  He was plotting the hunt.

The plan was, I drop him off at the bottom of the mountain, drive the Jeep to the top and wait for him to hike up and maybe push some deer up.  So, when it got light enough to hunt, I dropped him off at the bottom and wound my way up the switchbacks, through the forest ,up the mountain.  But before I got to the top, I saw a buck.  A nice buck.  I’d never shot one on my own before, so I was really nervous.  I got out of the jeep, took aim and fired.  He barely twitched.  I fired again and he took off to the left, lickety-split, just like the dream.  Pretty soon, Husband appears on the right, just like the dream.  We found the buck, close by.  It was a four by four; my first buck.  I dreamed my first buck.

On our way back to camp, I marveled aloud that the dream had come true.  I was glad I’d told my husband  about the dream.  It happened just like I told you! 

I haven’t had a dream come true like that in many years.  I seldom remember my dreams anymore.  They never were very useful anyway.

Well, that brake light dream, maybe.

It was just one scene, a sudden flash of brake lights in front of me, I’m behind the wheel and I know I can’t stop in time.  It jolted me awake.  It was so real!

It made me wonder; was it like when the tree fell?  Did someone see brake lights in real life and have a terrible accident?  Was it a scene from my own future?   Or was it just a random, meaningless image?

I don’t know,  but it made me extra careful not to tailgate.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

3 thoughts on “Visions

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Alexia Jones

  3. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

