Overcoming Bloglessness

Brilliant Blue

15 Comments

Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise.

005

004

I stopped at the grocery store for milk today and I ended up with a new birdbath. Cobalt blue, ceramic, good price. The first bluebirds showed up yesterday, so I got them a gift. It’s for the birds, to welcome them back.

“Impulse buy?”, asks Mr. Raven.

No. Yes.

No because I already wanted a birdbath in the front yard; one I’ll be able to see from here, at the computer. So it was premeditated, that I wanted one, therefore it’s not an impulse buy. An impulse buy is something you didn’t know you wanted until you saw it. See?

Yes, because I had already paid for the milk and was stepping away from the counter when I saw the birdbath which stopped me in my tracks. Cobalt blue. Ceramic. Good price. There was no customer in line behind me, no reason not to step back to the counter and ask the clerk to ring me up a birdbath.

“Your husband will be so surprised.”, says the clerk.

Like she knew.

Yes. He’ll shake his head. That’s what happens when I go by myself to the grocery store for milk.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

15 thoughts on “Brilliant Blue

  1. I got a new birdbath, too, for the front so I can see them from my kitchen window. šŸ™‚ I love these guys — scrub jays, right?

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Brilliant Disguise | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. You have western bluebirds. I see those here too, but not as often as the mountain bluebirds. They visit the yard every day and bring their babies in early July.
    I love their soft voices; it’s like they’re whispering to each other.
    That’s cool, that they answer you. I’ll have to try that.

  4. Awesome looking creatures these – and great photos Susan. I must say, it’s such a pleasure to see these new species because we have nothing quite like it where I am. Lovely way to brighten a teaser Spring day – because Winter hasn’t shaken off its mantle yet – as will be testimony to the overnight temperatures – again.

  5. Just beautiful. Great shot.

  6. Pingback: A Brilliant Disguise – or – I Heard it on the Radio | Cancer Isn't Pink

  7. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Whoppers” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  8. Thank you for sharing this, it’s really nice to read ligh-hearted post like this once in a while

Leave a Reply

