Overcoming Bloglessness

Hershey Bar

3 Comments

Daily Prompt: Pour Some Sugar on Me.

What is your favorite sweet thing to eat? Bread pudding? Chocolate chip oatmeal cookies? A smooth and creamy piece of cheesecake? Tell us all about the anticipation and delight of eating your favorite dessert. Not into sweets? Tell us all about your weakness for that certain salty snack.
slide_318934_2957750_free

Hershey Bar

If I had to restrict myself to only one sweet treat for the rest of my life, I’d choose Hershey bars. Plain Hershey bars, not almond. I like Hershey with almonds too; but I prefer a Hershey without.

I like everything about plain Hershey bars. I like the simplicity of the packaging, the rich color scheme and clean font; the way the sleeve slides off the slick inner wrapping and back on, if need be.

I like the flatness of the bar and the grid layout which lends itself nicely to systematic consumption and is easily divisible in times of rationing, sharing, or S’mores. I’m not likely to share a Hershey bar or save a portion for later, but one could, in a fix.

I do not take mouth shaped bites out of a rectangularly platted bar. If I want round bites I’ll eat Hershey Kisses. The satisfying ritual of breaking off and stacking individual Hershey rectangles is as necessary as sorting m & m’s by color. It must be done in order to experience total Hersheyvana.

The breaking up of the word Hershey adds yet another dimension as one ponders the presence of so many pronouns plus hey.

All these factors make the classic Hershey bar my favorite treat that I’m not allowed to eat at this time.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

3 thoughts on “Hershey Bar

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pour Some Sugar Over Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. What’s not to love about chocolate, right? But I never considered the impact of packaging before! That part made me smile!

Leave a Reply

