Overcoming Bloglessness

I Think

28 Comments

Daily Prompt: I Believe.

For today’s prompt, tell us three things that you believe in your heart to be true. Tell us three things you believe in your heart to be false.

538427_581267315223356_620430841_n
I Think

I seldom use the word Believe, unless I’m saying I don’t believe. I’d be more inclined to say I think. I realize the two words can be synonymous, but for me the word believe implies a certain closed-mindedness. I’m so put off by the arrogant certainty of Believers that the very word is spoiled for me.

I Think.

  • I think more attention should be paid to the serious problem of overpopulation. The planet is over capacity now with 7 billion people and nobody wants to talk about it.  Every 10 seconds a child dies of hunger. Some say we have already entered the sixth mass extinction. Why are we not addressing overpopulation?
  • I think birth control should be free and readily available to every woman in the world. It should not be the business of any religion to interfere with a woman’s right to control her own body.
  • I think education has been neglected in this country to a shameful and alarming degree. Climate change deniers, science poo-pooers, Dominionists, Creationists and Young Earthers will be the death of us, if we stand idly by, saying nothing.

I Don’t Think

  • I don’t think children should be allowed to suffer and die because of their parent’s belief in prayer instead of medical care. Parents should be prosecuted (as they are in Oregon) for failing to provide medical care to children.
  • I don’t think religious institutions should be tax exempt (taxpayer subsidized) or above the law. Child abusers and those who protect them should be prosecuted like any other citizen would be.
  • I don’t think tax dollars should support private religious schools by way of vouchers.

Some articles of interest.
Overpopulation
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/climate-report-proves-humans-are-the-new-dinosaurs-2013-10-12
Hunger Facts
https://www.thp.org/learn_more/issues/know_your_world_facts_about_hunger_and_poverty
Voucher Fraud
http://ffrf.org/news/blog/item/20015-vouchers-fund-incompetent-schools
Subsidized Religion
http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/wonkblog/wp/2013/08/22/you-give-religions-more-than-82-5-billion-a-year/

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

28 thoughts on “I Think

  1. Pingback: Believe Me You | Views Splash!

  2. Agreed. The population control thing: usually the thing that is sidestepped, fancy footwork’d to avoid the elephant in the room.

  3. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 75] I believe… | Never A Worry

  4. Pingback: I believe… | MsMissyLeigh

  5. I’m 100% with Carl Sagan on this. I actually started my little essay with something like that, that beliefs stand in the way of knowledge, but I decided not to…so I started over. I am constantly teaching my students the difference between the words THINK, FEEL and, occasionally, BELIEVE. They say “feel” for everything not knowing that makes rational thought impossible. They do not realize how they brainwash themselves out of rationality, “Professor, I feel I should have a higher grade.” “I’m with you there. Too bad about the facts.” I wish there were a “Love” star for your post. It’s just what I wanted to say but was too tired of the dispute to say it.

  6. Thank you so much Martha! I look forward to reading your essay.

  7. I agree: Belief is a dodgy and tainted word. To be sure, critical-thinking skills are lacking in some people in society today (and climate-change deniers and so on are up there at the top of the list)! Speaking of which, did you read Zadie Smith’s recent piece on climate change, the “new normal,” and moving from a “what have we done” attitude to “what can I/we do” with regard to climate change? It’s called “Elegy for a Country’s Seasons” and a very lyrical take on an ugly subject.

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. I heard somewhere that 6 billion people could live on the island of Australia with a quater acre of land each.
    Are we really overpopulated? Are there really 7 billion people? Are we getting the whole truth?
    The most interesting and eye opening book about surveys etc is a book called Bad Pharma published last year by Dr Ben Goldacre. A must read for anybody who lives on this planet.

  10. Yeah, “believe” became a word I am less fond of too, for similar reasons.
    You might find this post interesting on Edge.org that is related
    http://triangulations.wordpress.com/2009/09/05/unprovable-faith/

    • That is interesting. Thanks Sabio.

      • @ Susan,
        Glad you linked the link to scientists telling their faith and beliefs without evidence.
        Thought of your post this morning. Maybe you saw this.
        At the 2:00 mark Linde, (a top scientist) uses the word “believe”:

        “I live with this feeling: What if I am tricked? What if I believe this just because it is beautiful?”

        Just like the other link I offered, he (like others) confesses his belief, his faith — but being a scientist, he was hoping for evidence. Yet he had faith and belief. The difference with a religious position is that he was willing to change his belief. Nonetheless, we all live with hope, trust, belief and faith which are not based on facts — it is inevitable.

        BTW: I replied to your comment on my post. But maybe it was just drive-by comment.

  11. “I’m so put off by the arrogant certainty of Believers that the very word is spoiled for me.” Amen to that, and everything within this post 😉

  12. I totally agree with you on all of the points you have made. Yes, yes, yes, and yes. I am glad to find a kindred spirit. Rosemarie

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Believe | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

