Overcoming Bloglessness

No Sandman Here

8 Comments

Daily Prompt: Mr. Sandman.

What kind of sleeper are you? Do you drop off like a stone and awaken refreshed, or do you need pitch black and silence to drift off to dream?

No Sandman Here

Mr. Sandman is not reliable, or maybe he just likes my husband best, allowing him to fall asleep within minutes of lights out while I lie there, thinking, thinking, thinking. Mr. Raven, breathing through his mouth, in spite of the nose strips he wears now, insisting that they really do help. Whatever. I recommend duct tape.

It’s irksome, how fast he falls asleep. I’m on my right side and then left, then back again. Too hot; throw off covers. Chilly. Right side, left side, husband breathing, breathing, breathing, brain won’t shut off. What time is it? Maybe I should get up. No, stay. Relax! You’re almost asleep. No I’m not.
Maybe I should take another pill. I get up, don robe and slippers and wander around the house like a ghost. I look out the back window for stars or moon or snow or owls. I look out the front window for northern lights. Nothing. I don’t know what to do. I go to the computer room, look out the window, check for deer. Don’t turn it on. Bright screens are not conducive to sleep. No television. I should read, but I don’t want to turn on a light. I should lie down on the sofa but I don’t sleep well there. Maybe I should try the guest room, but then I’d have to make another bed. Eventually I wander back to my bed. Eventually I fall asleep.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

8 thoughts on “No Sandman Here

  1. Meditate before sleep. Make your mind still. When your thoughts are calm the sandman will come. If you don’t calm your thoughts he’ll wait till you’re too tired to fight him.

  2. Roflmbo -well Susan – despite the sleep problem – I just had to laugh at ” I reccomend duct tape.”

    Your sense of humor keeps me in stitches 🙂

    • Well, he was complaining that the adhesive wasn’t sticky enough. I just thought duct tape would be more cost effective, plus it comes in pretty colors and designs. 🙂

      • Lol – yes – duct tape – that Handy Man’s Tool – certainly has come a very long way since the days of silver toned tape.

  3. Pingback: MY DREAM KEPT ME | Hastywords

Leave a Reply

