Overcoming Bloglessness

Therapeutic Blues

5 Comments

Scan0003

Daily Prompt: Singing the Blues.

We all feel down from time to time. How do you combat the blues? What’s one tip you can share with others that always helps to lift your spirits?

Therapeutic Blues

If you ever see me feeling blue
the most therapeutic thing you could do
is bring me a puppy or kitten or cat
or a horse or a goat or an owl or a rat
or a jay or a bluebird or raven or wren
or a crow or a cow or a donkey or toad
or a turtle or chicken
that’s crossing the road.

Okay, that’s enough.
What I’m trying to say
is that nature erases
the woes of the day.

……………..

The photo is me, trying to lure a cow to the fence. I spent a lot of time at the barbed-wire, arm outstretched with a fistful of grass. Cows seldom cared, but once in a while one would come see what I had to offer, slobber all over my hand and mosey away. Oh, what a thrill! It was worth the wait.
When we visited Great-aunt Cora’s place I waded through ankle deep muck in my good shoes to stand at the barbed-wire that separated me from Topaz, even though Topaz was a mean old horse that never would come to the fence unless he felt like biting somebody. Topaz just glared at me from afar and then I got scolded for messing up my shoes and socks.

I was touched when Grandma sent me this photo. It’s not a great picture, but that’s my inner child. That’s me, trying to coax the creatures closer. I still do that. It’s good for what ails me.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

5 thoughts on “Therapeutic Blues

  1. I did a post on this although I think it was a bit late as I could not post the link to it.

  2. I love your photo and post. Just being outside, looking at the clouds, flowers, walking, makes me feel better.

  3. Pingback: 10 Tips for Beating the Blues (+ an Amusing Picture) | lynnesartandsoul

  4. Lovely image Susan – and yikes! that could have been me as a child – no kidding. My grandfather had a farm – and I loved being with the cows-fencing or not, I’d walk up to them. Loved being in the barn during milking time. And like you, I prefer the company of nature and animals to most human beings.

    Thanks for sharing and I hope you have a great weekend. 🙂

  5. Pingback: NEVER ALONE | Hastywords

Leave a Reply

