Overcoming Bloglessness

Ravens

15 Comments

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/cant-get-it-out-of-my-head/
“Have you ever become obsessed with something? Tell us about something that captivates your attention like nothing else.”
054

Ravens

I’m crazy about ravens. I don’t know if I’d say obsessed; maybe a bit more interested then your average Joe. I drop what I’m doing and come running whenever Husband says “Here comes your bird”. If there’s no corn muffin on the lawn I run to the kitchen to get one, then I run to the front door and fling it out on the lawn. I call out, “Raven” so he’ll learn my voice. Does that sound like obsession?

One of the ravens I bake for is named Greyray because the underside of his wings looks greyish. I wonder if that’s a sign of old age? I hadn’t seen him for a couple of days, but yesterday was snowy and cold so he came by several times for muffins. His wife, who hasn’t told me her name, will sometimes fly by and even land near a muffin, but not pick it up. Instead, she flies away to tell her husband that she’d like a muffin and he comes to get it. Sometimes they eat it in the field where I can see them. Sometimes they take it away to their nest or maybe they cache it for later.

I often see a red-tail hawk shoot into the scene and give chase. The hawk hopes the raven has found something meaty and is trying to get him to drop his find, but a hawk would be disappointed with a corn muffin. Anyway, Greyray always gets away with his treat.
I wonder if they have babies in the nest or eggs, ready to hatch. I wonder if they’ll teach their young where to get the best corn muffins. I hope so!

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

15 thoughts on “Ravens

  1. I think this is so cool! The Moslems say that a hawk pursued by ravens represents the soul being chased by satan, bit U suppose that’s because they hunt with hawks so have a deep identification with them.
    http://marthakennedy.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/obsession/

    • I’d think it meant the ravens want to see what the hawk has for supper. 🙂

      • I thought it meant that the hawk was too near the ravens’ nest!

          • I have ravens nesting around here near my house and yesterday I got to witness a WAR between a red tail, a peregrine falcon and a collection of ravens. It was very loud and rather dramatic and I wished I could’ve been above them to see the whole story.

            • Bird Wars! Cool.
              Four ravens came flying in together recently, landed on my lawn and stayed put, which is unusual; they’re so skittish they usually grab and go and only land one at a time. I had to peek out to see what they were doing, but that spooked ’em and they all took off, red-tail hawk hot on their trail. I felt bad that I’d spooked them off, but it was cool that they took refuge in my yard. Maybe they felt safe from the hawk, close to the house.

            • No doubt they do! Wonderful creatures.

  2. I meant to write, But I suppose instead of bit U suppose. Fingers moving faster than my mind or vice versa….

  3. Crow, (and I suppose by extension, Raven), is my totem. He has been showing up a LOT lately. Thanks for writing this.

    • I’m glad you liked it. I picked fox for a totem, many years ago after seeing one spring up in a field in the morning light. Our coloring was similar, so it seemed fitting. I rarely see one though.

  4. Pingback: Be aware, for Dragons live among Us | Wired With Words

  5. Pingback: Leave me alone! | Love.Books.Coffee.

  6. Infinitely more interesting than an obsession with shoes or handbags…

Leave a Reply

