Overcoming Bloglessness

Dear Granddaughter Alma

5 Comments

Dear Alma

Dear Alma

My grandmother sent me a framed picture of her father that had stood on her dresser forever. Years later, I found this letter behind the photo; a hidden treasure! It’s the saddest letter in the treasure box.
013
014

On the last page he begs my grandmother to reply and gives a New York address.  He mentions a photo he enclosed of my grandmother and her grandfather together, a photo I’ve never seen. It’s sad that my great-great-grandfather had lost touch with his son and grandchildren. I wonder why?  I wonder if my grandmother replied?  The letter must have been special to her, to have tucked it away behind a photo.  She may have forgotten it was there.
I wonder too, who wrote the letter? The penmanship doesn’t look like that of a 72 year old fruit peddler; it looks like a feminine hand to me.

Maybe my great-great-grandmother wrote the letter for him.   She looks like a woman with nice penmanship.  She’s about the grandest lady in the old photo album.  I wonder what happened between Grand Lady and fruit peddler
I wish I knew more of their story, but there’s no one left to ask.

Scan0016

 

Letters.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

5 thoughts on “Dear Granddaughter Alma

  1. Wow! What a moving letter that sure does raise a lot of questions. Maybe your secret journals will be a treasure trove for generations that come after you.

  2. 😦 There’s a whole novel there. Beautiful post. Thank you!

  3. What a fascinating letter. So many possibilities and so sad, too.

Leave a Reply

