Overcoming Bloglessness

Seeing Ibis

9 Comments

Stop the car! Did you see those birds? What are those?

ibis
This is my first sighting of the white-faced ibis. There were four in sight, heads down, probing the mud with their long, curved bill.

That was a good bird day. I’m such a dork, I made a list of all the birds I saw.

1. rufus hummingbird
2. calliope hummingbird
3. Canada goose
4. raven
5. meadowlark
6. ibis
7. yellow-headed blackbird
8. red-winged blackbird
9. coot
10. robin
11. magpie
12. great gray owl
13. barred owl
14. pygmy owl
15. northern saw-whet owl
16. red-tailed hawk
17. kestrel
18. mountain bluebird
19. western bluebird
20. ring-billed gull
21. turkey
22. tree swallows
23. house finch
24. starlings
25. chickens (yes, they count!)

Mr. Red-wing

Mr. Red-wing

The birds of prey were on display at a fundraiser for a wildlife rehabilitation center.

American kestrel

American kestrel

Northern Saw-whet owl

Northern Saw-whet owl

Great gray owl

Great gray owl

These birds can’t be released back into the wild due to their injuries, but they have a forever home at the center. The birds that can be released are not displayed like these guys are. It was a treat to see these raptors up close and personal.

Juvenile red-tailed hawk

Juvenile red-tailed hawk

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

9 thoughts on “Seeing Ibis

  1. Wow! I would love to see that! And I love the red-winged blackbird. They sound “like home” to me. Once I was lucky and got to drive my truck with two baby red-tails perched on my arm under my cowboy hat. One of life’s great moments!

    • Gosh, that would be memorable. I signed up to volunteer at the center. I don’t know what kind of opportunities they have for non-biologists; probably fund raising events, maybe cage cleaners or picture takers.
      I could sew up some felt birds to donate.
      But really, I’d love to rehab a bird.

      • Out here there’s an outfit called Project Wildlife that relies extensively on its volunteers and teaches them to rehab birds. Maybe that will be the case for you, too! That would be so awesome. http://www.projectwildlife.org/ I used to be in love with redtail hawks because when I hiked in the chaparral every day there was a pair that got used to my being there and found my dogs very useful for flushing out ground squirrels and rabbits from under the bushes. One day I was walking along a ridge and one of them was flying RIGHT beside me about 8 feet to my left. THAT was so amazing. That was during my “spirit animal” days (late 30’s) and I took it for a sign. Now it just being there would be meaning enough…

        • Wow! Hawk Walker! That’s a strong sign.
          I’ll check out the website. Thank you..

          • Yeah but then I started dreaming about Mountain Lions and ultimately (2004) saw one. That was also the last year I was able to go on long rambles in the mountains. Then I realized that (if we have spirit animals) they might change over time. Maybe we learn the lesson and get a new teacher. Now my animal seems to be the horse. It’s weird and maybe true.

            • I remember dreaming, a long time ago, about 6 white horses. I was trying to catch them. That seemed like it should be significant, but I never thought of a good thing for it to mean.
              When Grandma dreamt about losing her purse we looked it up in a dream book at the grocery store. It said losing your purse is symbolic of losing your virginity. Grandma! Really?! She was mortified.

            • Poor grandma!

Leave a Reply

