Overcoming Bloglessness

Weather Moods

3 Comments

Daily Prompt Climate Control.
How does the weather affect your mood?

Dark, dreary days can make me feel gloomy and bored; especially if it’s too dark out to take pictures.  Why go outside if you can’t take pictures? I’ll just stare at the computer or the television and be inert.

Unless there’s a rainbow. Rainbows perk me up.
023

On bright, snowy days, even if it’s below freezing outside, I feel ambitious.  I can’t wait to get out for a walk or to shovel snow; anything to burn some calories and get some sun. 018

Unless it’s windy. Wind makes my ears ache and my nose runs and my eyes water so I can’t see the birds and I can’t see to take pictures. I don’t like windy.
When it’s windy and sunny I’m tricked into thinking It’s nice out and I start making outdoor plans, until  I see the grasses bending flat down and and the windicator standing straight out. Wind makes me crabby.

Hang on little buddy!

Hang on little buddy!

Unless it’s a dust storm. When the farmer’s freshly furrowed dirt is blowing away in clouds and the wind is howling  it’s kind of exciting. I like to hunker down and watch a storm; as long as I don’t have to hang wet blankets over the windows like they did in the dust bowl days.
156
Hot weather makes me feel lethargic and lazy. Hot weather drives me to drink.
034

On perfect spring days like today I want to be outside all day; working or playing, it doesn’t matter which.  I can’t sit here, in front of the computer when skies are blue.  That would be a waste of sunshine.

Therefore, I bid you a fond adieu.

012

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

3 thoughts on “Weather Moods

  1. I love all the pictures — the lilacs especially. If I get this move to Colorado under control I’ll be a lot closer to “home” (where I’ve never lived but where I’ve always returned). Rainbows perk me up, too. Once I was above the rainbow and saw it as a full circle. Another time the angle was such that the rainbow entered my car through the windshield. That was wonderful. Another time — in Montana! — at St. Xavier on the Crow Reservation in July, after a storm, the air all early evening golden, mammatus clouds, and a rainbow over that little church. I think it would be fun some day to catalog all the rainbows I remember. Thanks for the beautiful post and pictures!

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Climate Control – The Weather affects your Mood? Never! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: The mood, the moods, the moodies. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

