Overcoming Bloglessness

Bird Shots

13 Comments

Magpie has figured out where Raven’s been getting those delicious corn muffins.   Raven has some competition now. I’m happy to see a magpie in the yard, but I don’t know if I can keep up with the baking. Raven may have to learn to come tapping, tapping on my chamber door for a muffin.
016

Yellow-headed Blackbird

050
I love the weird call these birds make. You can hear it at this link.
http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/yellow-headed_blackbird/sounds

Ring-necked Pheasant

045 046
I finally got a shot of a pheasant! I wish I could find one of those long feathers. For my cap.
http://www.allaboutbirds.org/guide/ring-necked_pheasant/sounds

Turkeys, self-basking.

014

Tree Swallow

024

They’re mating all over the place and setting up shop in the bluebird houses.  Bluebird houses are too small for swallows; last year’s babies died.   Maybe we should give up on attracting bluebirds and put up bigger houses for the swallows.

Goslings

085 (2)

Notice the different age groups following the mom.  Goslings will follow any old mom with a brood, so some moms dump their brood early and head for the tundra. The surrogate moms don’t mind. The kids can feed themselves.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

13 thoughts on “Bird Shots

  1. WOAH! Wierd is right!! Holy Toledo, mama!

  2. I also must comment on the linear quality to these shots. I don’t imagine it was deliberate, but see how turkey, swallow, and goose are all in a straight line?

  3. The call sounds like a rusty swing in an abandoned playground. Something Alfred Hitchcock might play as the swing sways in the breeze.

  4. Had a toucan fly overhead yesterday. Impressive bird. It’s the second i’ve seen round here. The first spoiled me rotten; it spent an hour or so in some nearby palms, making a racket, proud as could be.

  5. The birds are so much fun to watch 🙂

  6. Beautiful sheen on the swallow. Great pics.

  7. Again, beautiful photos. I’ve never seen a yellow’headed blackbird and didn’t know they existed. I like!

Leave a Reply

