Overcoming Bloglessness

Chicken Update

10 Comments

The fluffy little chicks I bought in April are looking more like hens now. They’re spoiled little princess hens, carried into the garage at night and carried out to the hen-house in the morning. Nighttime temps are in the forties outside; it stays sixty in the garage. I expect to be leaving them outside all night within a week or so, if I can bear their pitiful stares of longing. Hey! It’s time to come get us!

Besides bugs, grit and chick-feed they’re eating salad leftovers (no dressing), hard-boiled egg, oats and corn meal and bread. I never should’ve given them bread. Wheat bread is like crack to those birds; they would kill for it. I only give them a little bit when they’ve been very good hens.

Betty

Betty


Betty Barred-Rock, the timid one, always thinks the sky is falling. She fusses the most at being picked up. She’s kind of a klutz. It’s funny to watch Betty’s flying leaps at the perch; sometimes she forgets to jump and runs right under it, sometimes she over-shoots the perch, sometimes she stops and jumps in place. She’s learning. She’s very skilled at catching bugs.

Wilma

Wilma


Wilma is the snuggle chicken. She doesn’t like to be caught, but she likes to be held and will fall asleep in your arms, much to the delight of two little granddaughters I know. Wilma is a bossy hen. She’s bigger and more athletic than Betty and sometimes she pecks Betty in the head, but Betty doesn’t mind. They’re very bonded.

021

Mr. Raven and I are enjoying the chickens. They haven’t been too much work or too stinky, yet. We’re looking forward to some good compost and it’ll be exciting to find our first eggs, later this summer.
 

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

10 thoughts on “Chicken Update

  1. They are beautiful!

  2. Betty and Wilma. Yabba Dabba Doo vs cock-a-doodle doo?

    • There better not be any cock-a-doodle-doo-ing!
      I knew, before I got the chicks, that I wanted to name one Betty. I don’t know why, I just got it in my head that one would be Betty. Mr. Raven decided on Wilma, since they look like little dinosaurs underneath the fluffery.

      • Hee hee. I’m delighted to watch the progress. Would love to have chickens in our yard, but for the times when we go away, who would care for them? That’s the concern. That and the tom cats.

        • We have a couple of short trips coming up. I’m sure they’ll be okay, left with enough food and water, but I’ll still worry! A neighbor said she’d look in on them.

  3. Leave it to you to make chickens sound adorable, lol!

  4. Great photos…. and very pretty chickens!!

Leave a Reply

