Overcoming Bloglessness

Say What‽

13 Comments

Daily Prompt We all have strange relationships with punctuation — do you overuse exclamation marks? Do you avoid semicolons like the plague? What type of punctuation could you never live without? Tell us all about your punctuation quirks!

via By the Dots.

Who doesn’t love the interrobang‽ It’s my favorite punctuation mark.

Interrobangs are so useful, yet underused, probably because there’s no key for it on standard keyboards.  It’s not your momma’s punctuation mark.  It wasn’t taught in school. 

Interrobang came about in the sixties and is used to excitedly ask a question, express  disbelief in a questioning form, or to ask a rhetorical question.

Are you kidding‽

What the hell‽

Why is there no interrobang on my keyboard‽

You can use a question mark with an exclamation mark, but that’s not as cool as a real interrobang. If you want a real interrobang, key in the symbol for ampersand #8253;
or &#8253semicolon

I’d like to see more interrobanging in the world. In this crazy day and age, we need them more than ever.

Don’t you agree‽

‽ ‽ ‽ ‽ ‽ ‽ ‽ ‽ ‽

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

13 thoughts on “Say What‽

  1. Pingback: Punctuation And Misfits | It's Mayur Remember?

  2. Pingback: Daily prompt: Don’t fool with me, Grammar Check! | helen meikle's scribblefest

  3. I’ve mentioned the interrobang and linked back to you from my post. Hope this is OK.

  4. I discovered you through Helen’s post and so happy to find you. This is the first I’ve heard of interrobang, what a wonderful creation!? Thanks Susan.

  5. The name of my college’s newspaper is/was the Interrobang. I had no idea what it meant when I attended and was not curious enough to find out. Thanks for solving the mystery!

  6. Now.. if I can only remember the key for it…. Why do they have to make it so challenging to use cool punctuation?

Leave a Reply

