Overcoming Bloglessness

Hand-Me-Downs

10 Comments

Daily Prompt: Hand-Me-Downs Clothes and toys, recipes and jokes, advice and prejudice: we all have to handle all sorts of hand-me-downs every day. Tell us about some of the meaningful hand-me-downs in your life.

010

The things  handed down in my family are  utilitarian things; bibles and kettles, tools and tackle boxes.

This set of wool carders belonged to my great-grandmother.  Once upon a time she sat by the fireplace of an evening and carded wool for spinning.  It was a precious scene in my grandmother’s memory.

My grandmother kept the set forever in a box under her bed and I’ve kept them forever in a box under my bed.  I doubt that my son or daughter will comply with this tradition.   I don’t want the carders to end up in a second-hand store or a donation box , unknown and unloved.

I’m thinking about sending them to a cousin who knew Great-grandmother and who would value the fact that Her hands held these tools.   The cousin I have in mind is one who spins a potter’s wheel and makes goat cheese and beautiful Hardanger fiddles.  Maybe he or his wife would actually use the carders.   Maybe he would keep them in a box under the bed.   Maybe he would know someone else in the family who would keep them in a box under the bed.

If I send the carders away, I’ll miss them.    I like having them.   They’re treasure.  Holding them is almost like holding Her hand.

But that’s silly, isn’t it?

 

Scan0026

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

10 thoughts on “Hand-Me-Downs

  1. Not silly in the LEAST. I’m going through all sorts of old stuff as I prepare to move. I found letters from my grandmother to my parents. I read some. I cannot throw them out even though I may never look at them again. They seemed to bring her here in front of me for a little while. My dad’s slide-rules do the same thing. No one else in the world will ever care about those things but for us they carry a bit of their owner back to our lives.

  2. What a wonderful post! I’m a bit tearful, with your reverence for the carders, your grandmother’s photo… the video, too… I do hope they find a home where they will be appreciated and even used.

  3. I don’t think it’s silly. After my grandmother passed away, we never redid her room. Everything is as she left it. Somehow it always felt like we are preserving her essence in the room. At times I wonder if we happen move into a different house, will we have a room for her things? But then it will never have the same quality to itself.
    Anyway it is quite a touching post.

  4. I understand, I handed over my mother’s family photos to her youngest sister a few years ago knowing she had children and they would be cherished and remain in the family. Her sister said she’s been wondering for years why they had disappeared. My mother took them and never told her sisters she had them. I have the precious knick knacks of my paternal grandmother and grandfather. Again, no one else to pass them along to. I’m happy to know I have all the memories they hold.

  5. I don’t think it’s silly at all. I still have my father’s carpentry pencil. Two a penny, you might say. But this is the one he used to mark the wood as we discussed life and the universe in his workshop. I loved those times.

    • Oh, oh, me too! I have some of Dad’s drawing tools – I used to sneak them out and draw floor plans on graph paper. I’m awfully fond of those too.
      To anyone else, it’s just a pencil, but for us, it’s a dear moment with Dad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

