Overcoming Bloglessness

Two Chickens, Bluebirds and a Pike (walk in to a bar…)

11 Comments

 

Daily Prompt
Ready, Set, Done.Our free-write is back by popular demand: today, write about anything — but you must write for exactly ten minutes, no more, no less.

 

Chicken News

My hens, Betty and Wilma, are late with the rent. I was expecting eggs by about 18 weeks. They’re 23 weeks old now and I’ve found only one sorry egg, broken and buried under the dirt. That was weeks ago. My neighbor, who has lots of chickens, says that’s normal. I’m keeping an eye out, in the raspberry bushes, behind the wheelbarrows; who knows where they might drop one?!

022

I’m enjoying the chickens, even if they’re not putting out. They’re good company; talkative and curious. They follow me around the yard and watch what I’m doing. When I sit in a chair, they sit in a chair. Sometimes they even sit in my lap, but that’s rare.

160

The store-bought henhouse got a winterization make-over. Mr. Raven cut boards to cover the wire mesh walls. He installed a big window on one side and a light fixture inside, for extra heat on really cold days.

It’s not adorable, like those high-end  princess hen houses, but it’ll be warm and dry inside.

006

002

005

 

Bluebird News
I thought the mountain bluebirds might go south after the cold snap we had, but they waited until the sun lined up with the equator.

They began their migration on the equinox! Did they know???

026

Pike Sighting

I found a little park, when I was following yard sale signs. The park is on a little island, surrounded by a brackish slough. I asked a fellow fishing there, “What do you catch in here?”

“Want to see?”, he asked.

“Yes!”

He leaned into the back of his truck and pulled out this pike.

004

“Whoa!”

He saw I was packing a camera. “You want to take a picture?” he asked.

Of  course I wanted to take a picture!  I’d never seen a big-assed pike before.   I offered to send him a copy and I think he was glad to have a picture of the biggest pike he’d caught all summer. I was glad I got to see it.

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

11 thoughts on “Two Chickens, Bluebirds and a Pike (walk in to a bar…)

  1. This was like a friendly chat over a cup or glass at the end of the day. I loved following you through your day, and the pictures were excellent!!

  2. Excellent post! I loved the pictures; you’re a great photographer. I’ve never caught any fish remotely close to the size of the one in that last photo!

  3. Chickens are great. I’d like to introduce you to Rufina, the amazing chicken of a blogging pal. The link is to how Rufina came to be so extraordinary, but there are a number of other posts. Seems she’s also been in the Huffington Post!

    http://liveclayart.com/2013/06/24/the-undead-chicken/

  4. I love the chicken house and how they follow you around. We are new(ish) duck parents, and they recently, just about a week ago, “came of age” and started laying eggs. We don’t have a huge amount of land (or fencing), so they are not free-range, but they have gotten to the point where they will follow me around, though they are not affectionate. I’d like them to be a little more so; I miss having a dog, cat, or other cuddly critter around the house (children don’t always count in that respect, ha-ha). Mr. S. built both our duck coops, and it was an almost total experiment in repurposing wood (including an old closet door). That didn’t work out 100% great, but it lasted several months while we got up to speed on learning more about ducks. Well, I could ramble on about the feathered critters, but really just wanted to say I love the story and photos. That fish is huge, and now he has proof it wasn’t a tall tale–too cool!

    • I miss cats and dogs too, but at least the hens don’t wake me up in the middle of the night!

      They were perched on the patio chairs last evening, looking in the kitchen window while I washed dishes. I moved the chairs closer, so they could get a better look. Silly birds.
      Do you eat the duck eggs? How many ducks do you have? What kind? Feel free to ramble on!
      🙂

      • I’m a little paranoid about salmonella, so I overcooked two scrambled duck eggs last evening (this was our first duck egg dining experience). One kid liked it, husband wasn’t really fond of it. I haven’t eaten any yet; I have to get my mind around the “I’m raising this animal and eating its unborn offspring” idea. We have only 6 ducks, and they get free range of a fairly big plot. I haven’t sexed them all, but we believe them to be 5 females and 1 male. 1 Swedish blue, 5 khaki Campbells. Your chickens have so much personality; I can picture them looking in curiously through a window. Love it!

  5. Last week I noticed a flurry of activity at my garden fountain. A flock of bluebirds was darting in and out of the water just having a wonderful time. I guess they’re on their way farther South? I’ve never seen so many at one time and so happy they came to visit!

Leave a Reply

