Overcoming Bloglessness

Un Livre

6 Comments

Daily Prompt
The Great Divide.
When reading for fun, do you usually choose fiction or non-fiction? Do you have an idea why you prefer one over the other?  

The last book I bought was non-fiction, or so I thought. I found it at a thrift store: a vintage French language textbook from Switzerland with the name Lucia Bellacicio penciled on the first page.

047
When I got the book home, I found surprises inside.  Little bits of paper; ephemera from a day in the life of Lucia Bellacico fluttered down from the book, onto my lap.

042

A bus ticket from Lausanne, purchased at 12:15.  A receipt from Bibliotheque Cantonale Et Universitaire Lausanne for Fodor’s Voyage Guide. A French test taken le 11 Juin 1969 with a red inked score of 79%.  Insuffisant! 

There were notes and lists in French and English. There was a typed page, in English; an invitation to an Independence Day Picnic, July 3, 1966 at Ecole Nouvelle Chailly, a benefit for the cerebral palsied.

And there were poems, handwritten in English; one for a little girl named Gretchen (Curls that shine like the setting sun…) and one for little (bundle of laughter and joy…) Hilery.

When I bought the book, I just wanted to read some French, maybe learn a mot or two. Now I want to know the rest of Lucia Bellacicio’s story. Ou est Lucia Bellacicio? Where was she from? Is she still alive? How did her Swiss/French book end up in a thrift store in Montana? Are the poems about her daughters? Where are Gretchen and Hilery now and wouldn’t they like to read these poems?

So, my lovely old French textbook turned out to be non-fiction, a mystery and a memoir all in one.
Tres interessant!

001

 

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

6 thoughts on “Un Livre

  1. As a student facing midterms, that 79% marked insufficient rattles me!

  2. Oh, Susan, what a delightful story! It reminds me of “People of the Book” by Geraldine Brooks. Have you read it? Bits and bobs contained within a bookt tell quite the compelling story. And so did this post….we’ve been given a glimpse into someone’s life. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

