Overcoming Bloglessness

Show and Tell

11 Comments

A Rock

I brought this cool rock for show and tell. It looks like a petrified dinosaur heart wrapped in blood vessels and bands of muscle tissue.
030

How do you suppose it was formed?  Anybody?  Buehler?

I want this rock. Next time we go fishing, I’m going to try to catch it. It’s heavy, but I’m sure it’s pickupable. I think I can pack it out, a mile or so from the river to the truck.
I think I can. I think I can. I think I can.

But, if I can’t, I’ll say,  It would be selfish, to take that rock away from the river and keep it all to myself.

 

Shrooms

005
Coprinus comatus

Here’s a little patch of shaggy manes, also called lawyer’s wig or shaggy ink cap. Mr. Raven calls them pisshrooms, claiming they grow wherever somebody went. They’re edible before they get inky, but they don’t keep well. You’ve got to cook ’em right away.

A Jury of Crows

018 013

I was delighted to see crows gathered up in the field. I refuse to call it a murder. I like jury. A jury of crows.

 

Yesterday’s Daily PromptReady, Set, Done. Our weekly free-write is back: take ten minutes — no pauses! — to write about anything, unfiltered and unedited. You can then publish the post as-is, or edit a bit first — your call.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

11 thoughts on “Show and Tell

  1. OK, but don’t hurt yourself. A mile is a very long mile under load. I have the chiropractor bills to prove it!

    As for how it formed. This little bit I do know – the bands that are in relief are made of harder material than that which is no longer there. From the looks of it, it is a sedimentary rock, I guess.

    Love the suite of photos, most especially, the crows. They are on my Pinterest board already.

  2. Pingback: Incandescent Joy – The 3rd of October 2007 – Evanston, Illinois | Forgotten Correspondence

  3. Love the jury abundantly. And thank goodness for Maggie’s explanation on how that gorgeous rock could have been formed. I, for what it’s worth, vote for it to stay in situ.

  4. Your rock is absolutely amazing. All of the wrappings are stone, correct? I’ve never seen one remotely like it. You’ve got to take it home!!!! You can leave instructions after your death to have your heirs carry it back–a condition of their inheritance!!! Do I know how to ease guilt or not? Judy

  5. Pingback: Ready, Set, Done | Blogged With Words

Leave a Reply

