Overcoming Bloglessness

Eternal Life

11 Comments

Daily Prompt Finite Creatures.
At what age did you realize you were not immortal? How did you react to that discovery?

There was no epic Moment of Discovery; I’ve always known I’d die someday. It’s part of childhood indoctrination. They start telling you you’re going to die as soon as you can perform recitations.

Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
If I should die before I wake,
I pray the Lord my soul to take
.

It wasn’t hard to accept that my body would die. What was difficult, at first, was accepting oblivion, rather than an eternal afterlife. Even after rejecting the biblical narrative, I clung to the idea that somehow my consciousness would survive my physical death, float up through the cosmos and be part of an omniscient collective consciousness. My ego balked at the notion that when I die, I cease to exist. It took time and thought to accept that after death, there’s nothingness, just like before I was born.

Oh, how sad for you! say the believers. They think I must feel hopeless. Joyless. Purposeless. They think I fear death.

But the opposite is true. Facing oblivion is a relief, having spent more than half my life fretting about Judgment Day. I found no comfort in unbelievable Christian dogma. Faith, to me, is the same as pretending.

And, while I really like the collective consciousness idea, I have no reason to believe it’s anything more than another comforting story to soothe the savage ego.

I’ve accepted my mortality. I’ll savor this short life and be here, now. After that, I reckon I’m going to be stardust.

I reckon you are too.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

11 thoughts on “Eternal Life

  1. So well put, Susan. I share your sentiments.

  2. Faith, to me, is the same as pretending.

    Precisely.

    Have you ever read God’s Debris by Scott Adams? It’s a small book, free online, and presents an interesting god hypothesis not dissimilar to your collective conscious idea.

  3. I don’t know what I believe yet…but find comfort reading when reading the philosophies of many of the world’s religions. I am interested in the book John Zande mentions above. I’ll have to check that out.

  4. I have traveled much the same path. Depending upon the day you ask me, my views change. I, like you, am firm in the belief of no heaven & no hell, not as dogma. In my own experience I’ve seen some validity in the collective unconscious… like I said, depends on the day you ask. I find speculating to be useless. Everyone is guessing and we all find out sooner or later the real answer.

    We already ARE stardust. šŸ™‚

  5. Amen, Sister! I was nodding my head vigorously as I read this post. If I may, I’d like to suggest taking a look at another blog I follow: http://thesuperstitiousnakedape.wordpress.com/ . Now I think I’ll take a look at God’s Debris. It also sounds fascinating.

Leave a Reply

