Overcoming Bloglessness

Moose, Tanager, Owl

12 Comments

Daily Prompt
If you could slow down an action that usually zooms by, or speed up an event that normally drags on, which would you choose, and why?
via Pace Oddity.

 

I should like a SLOW setting on my camera that would slow down wildlife, giving me more time to gather my wits and my camera, get focused, compose and shoot before the critters disappear.

Moose

These placid posers stood still for me. In fact, they stayed so still for so long, I had finally had to excuse myself.

021

These are Shiras moose; a cow and calf. Shiras are the smallest subspecies in North America, weighing only about 500 to 750 pounds when mature.

015

Western Tanagers

I’d never seen western tanagers before yesterday.  At least, I think that’s what these are. The bright red male stayed in the shadows. If I could’ve slowed him down, I’d have gotten a better shot than this.
035

The female didn’t mind posing a minute.

007

Barred Owl

If I’d had that special setting on my camera, you’d see a shot of the snowshoe hare that was on the road, wrestling with this barred owl.   When we came around the corner, the owl lost focus, the hare escaped and disappeared into the woods.

026

The owl perched in a tree and glared at me for spoiling his supper.

023

Yikes! Don’t look at me like that! I’m leaving!

And now, a cheesy Daily Prompt poem.

Speed time up
in dentists’ chairs,
Slow it down
for love affairs.
Speed it up
for drudgery,
Slow it at
the fudgery.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

12 thoughts on “Moose, Tanager, Owl

  1. All are good, fun photos but the last one of the owl! You are SO in trouble!

  2. I love the photos and the poem. 🙂

  3. The tanager photo is lovely. She WANTED you to take her picture. For the record, I think your poem is sweet. 😉

  4. I just had an adventure with my brother-in-law shooting bald eagles. I have a whole new respect for wild life photographers now. Eagles don’t listen to “slow down”, in case you’re wondering. That owl is just gorgeous, by the way.

Leave a Reply

