Overcoming Bloglessness

Big Talk

1 Comment

Daily Prompt
Second-Hand Stories.
What’s the best story someone else has recently told you (in person, preferably)? Share it with us, and feel free to embellish — that’s how good stories become great, after all.

I’ve been hearing lots of stories about Dick. I heard he kicked a hole in the sheetrock and stomped a crack in the tub. I heard he got that black eye in a bar fight. I heard he spent a lot of money on guns and ammo; afraid that Hilary Clinton will become president and take everyone’s guns. I heard that the neighbors called the cops on him when he yelled at their kids. I heard he’s drinking more and becoming more confrontational.

I heard he wanted to talk to me.

“He said he felt bad; he knew he’d come down pretty hard on you that day; ten years of pent up frustration, you know?”

“Pffft!” He’s so persecuted.

“He thought, for the sake of the children, maybe you guys could make amends.”

A full year has passed since he called me a “fucking fascist” and hung up the phone. Not a word since. Now, all of a sudden, for the sake of the children? I doubt it, but
I said I’d think about it.

I’d had one moment of compassion for the guy. Imagine, coming home and finding divorce papers where dinner should’ve been; the wife, the children, the sofa, gone. I felt sorry for him and thought maybe I should reach out…

Then I realized that was the wine thinking and I got over it. It’s his own doing, after all. That’s what you get, for being a dick. Divorce papers.

If he’d said something a month ago or six months ago or ten, I might’ve bought it. But now? A full year later? Now he’s grasping at straws. Now he’s desperate because he’s not in control.

I thought about it and I don’t want to talk to him. He doesn’t get another shot at me.

“You can tell him he’s forgiven,” I told her the next day. “He’s forgiven and I hope we can be cordial, if we ever run in to each other. But I don’t think we need to have a big talk.”

I haven’t heard yet, if she told him or how he responded.

Probably pissed him off.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

One thought on “Big Talk

  1. [The] Dick doesn’t deserve a second shot.

Leave a Reply

