Overcoming Bloglessness

I’m Doomed

1 Comment

Daily Prompt via Under the Snow.
You were caught in an avalanche. To be rescued, you need to make it through the night. What thought(s) would give you the strength to go through such a scary, dangerous situation?

Let’s face it; I’m a goner. Thoughts like stay calm may extend my life for a few minutes, but thoughts are not enough to protect me from hypothermia, suffocation or the crushing weight of snow. Left overnight, buried under snow, I will die, no matter what I’m thinking.

Without a sizeable air pocket, open to the outside, a person buried in snow may only last about 20 minutes. Even with an air pocket, you’ve got about 90 minutes. I’d soon be breathing my own exhalations and die of hypoxia.

Avalanches are common around here. We often see swaths of forest that have been flattened by an avalanche.
Here’s a little one.

002

If I’m caught in an avalanche and Daily Prompt isn’t coming for me until tomorrow, well, I’m thinking that’s not very prompt at all, is it?
Thanks a lot DP.
Liars.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

One thought on “I’m Doomed

  1. Right on!

Leave a Reply

