Overcoming Bloglessness

Dad’s Dead

2 Comments

“Dad’s dead.”

That’s all the caller said before hanging up. Mom thought it was Grandma calling and that she was too upset to say anything more than “Dad’s dead.” So Mom called my father, who rushed home from work. He must’ve had another stroke, they thought. Maybe he’s had a heart attack. They threw some things in a suitcase. It was a four hour drive to Pilot Rock.

I was little. I was staying with Grandma and Grandpa that week, sleeping on the sofa in the living room when there came an urgent knock-knock-knock-knock-knocking.
Grandma, rushed to the door, tying her robe around her flannel nightgown. She was flabbergasted when she peeked through the blinds and saw my parents standing there at ten o’clock at night.

“Well, for land’s sakes! What’s going on?” Mom and Dad came in, rumpled and red-eyed. Dad choked up, asking about Grandpa and the phone call. “Didn’t you call? Where’s Dad? Is Dad okay?”

“He’s fine!”

Grandpa was in his pajamas, sitting on the edge of the bed when my parents went to his room. My father choked up; so happy to see his father alive.

They could laugh now. That long drive, for nothing! They all wondered if it had been a prank call or a mistake.

Maybe somebody’s grieving mother dialed a wrong number to report her husband’s death and maybe nobody showed up to comfort her.

The sad part for me: my week at Grandma’s was cut short by a couple of days so my parents wouldn’t have to make the drive again.

via Cause, Meet Effect.

Author: Susan B Raven

For many years I have suffered from debilitating bloglessness, only writing in my head, while everyone else posted and shared with ease. Previous attempts at recovery have failed, my secret journals edited to death, pages torn out, crumpled and trashed. I will not succumb to this embarassing condition. I will continue to struggle against the rampant backspacing and endless blank staring. I refuse to relapse into the void that is bloglessness. I can do it. I am doing it. I am Overcoming Bloglessness.

2 thoughts on “Dad’s Dead

  1. This happened to us, Susan. A friend of my sister’s called and said, “Pat, we can’t find Patti. We think she’s in the river! My mother dropped the phone and we were all wailing…thinking she was dead for some time before we finally hung up the phone an dshe called us back to say it was a joke. My mother never did forgive that friend of my sister’s. A terrible joke. Merry Xmas, Susan..Judy

Leave a Reply

